This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 17 °C Wednesday 12 August, 2020

4 changes for both Tipperary and Cavan ahead of crunch All-Ireland qualifier

Armagh have made one change for their tie with Westmeath.

Cavan lost to Monaghan in Ulster but bounced back to beat Offaly.
Cavan lost to Monaghan in Ulster but bounced back to beat Offaly.
Image: Tom Beary/INPHO

TIPPERARY AND CAVAN have both shaken up their starting sides, making four changes each for their All-Ireland football qualifier tomorrow.

Tipperary have handed out championship debuts to Emmet Moloney and Jack Kennedy, while also bringing in Colm O’Shaughnessy and Kevin O’Halloran.

Injury saw Shane O’Connell and Michael Quinlivan both depart the Cork game, and neither have been able to regain fitness in time here. Paddy Codd and Diarmuid Foley also drop out of the Tipperary team.

For the Cavan side, Killian Clarke and Niall Murray are named to start in the positions in the spine of defence while Tomas Corr comes into midfield where he will partner Liam Buchanan.

In attack Caoimhin O’Reilly is selected at right corner-forward for what will be his first championship start.

Gearoid Smith misses out through injury while Seanie Johnston, Niall Clerkin and Niall McDermott – the starting full-forward line in the qualifier victory over Offaly – all drop to the bench.

The throw-in time for this Round 2B qualifier tie in Kingspan Breffni Park is 2pm.

Armagh manager Kieran McGeeney has drafted James Morgan into his defence instead of Mark Shields in the only change from their victory over Fermanagh last time out.

Their qualifier tie against Westmeath will start at 7pm in TEG Cusack Park tomorrow night.


1. Ciaran Kenrick (Moyle Rovers)

2. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)
3. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
4. Emmet Moloney (Drom-Inch)

5. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers, Cork)
7. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)

8. Liam Casey (Cahir)
9. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers)

10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
11. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers)
12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg-Annacarty)

13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
14. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)
15. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)


1. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)

2. Padraig Faulkner (Kingscourt)
3. Killian Clarke (Shercock)
4. Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)

5. James McEnroe (Ramor United)
6. Niall Murray (Cavan Gaels)
7. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)

8. Liam Buchanan (Ballymachugh)
9. Tomas Corr (Denn)

10. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
11. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
12. Ciaran Brady (Arvagh)

13. Caoimhin O’Reilly (Butlersbridge)
14. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)
15. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)


16. James Farrelly (Kingscourt)
17. Fergal Reilly (Castlerahan)
18. Killian Brady (Mullahoran)
19. Seanie Johnston (Cavan Gaels)
20. Niall Clerkin (Shercock)
21. Niall McDermott (Ballinagh)
22. Shane O’Rourke (Laragh United)
23. Joe Dillon (Kingscourt)
24. Niall McKiernan (Lacken)
25. Ryan Connolly (Drumlane)
26. Thomas Galligan (Lacken)


1. Blaine Hughes (Carrickcruppen)

2. Aaron McKay (Dromintee)
3. Charlie Vernon (Armagh Harps)
4. Paul Hughes (Crossmaglen Rangers)

5. Aidan Forker (Maghery)
6. Brendan Donaghy (Clonmore)
7. James Morgan (Crossmaglen Rangers)

8. Stephen Sheridan (Forkhill)
9. Niall Grimley (Madden)

10. Ciaran O’Hanlon (Killeavy)
11. Anthony Duffy (Pearse Óg)
12. Rory Grugan (Ballymacnab – captain)

13. Jamie Clarke (Crossmaglen Rangers)
14. Andrew Murnin (St Paul’s Lurgan)
15. Gavin McParland (Ballymacnab)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

All-Ireland champions Tipp make two changes for qualifier showdown with Dublin

Maurice Shanahan dropped as Derek McGrath names Waterford team for Kilkenny

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: