Dublin: 5°C Wednesday 8 December 2021

Ciaran Kilkenny back in Dublin colours tonight

The Castleknock attacker has been named in Dessie Farrell’s team for their Cadbury’s Leinster U21 opener.

Dublin's Ciaran Kilkenny.
Dublin's Ciaran Kilkenny.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

CIARAN KILKENNY RETURNS to action with Dublin tonight after being named in their U21 side to face Carlow in the preliminary round of the Cadbury’s Leinster championship.

The clash in Parnell Park at 7.30pm will see Kilkenny feature on the inter-county stage again.

The Castlelknock youngster departed for Australia last November to embark on an AFL career with Hawthorn but then January opted to return to resume playing GAA.

He has been involved in recent weeks with his club who were involved in an exciting trilogy in the All-Ireland club junior football semi-final against Kenmare Shamrocks before losing out after a second replay in Croke Park.

Kilkenny is one of five Dublin players in Dessie Farrell’s team tonight that featured at some juncture in last year’s All-Ireland U21 winning run. Jack McCaffrey, Danny Byrne, Emmet O Conghaile and Paul Mannion are the other players.

Members of last year’s successful Dublin minor team like Lorcan Molloy (eligible for minor again this year), David Byrne, Eric Lowndes, Conor Mulally and Shane Carthy also get the nod tonight.

Dublin have had to plan with three players due to injury – last year’s U21 duo Luke Fletcher and Philly Ryan and 2012 minor star Cormac Costello. Senior boss Jim Gavin will be keeping a close eye on the game as David Byrne, Lowndes, McCaffrey, O Conghaile, Carthy, Mannion and Kilkenny have all figured in his plans so far.

The Laois and Meath teams have also been named for tonight’s matches with three games in all down for decision in the preliminary round.

Offaly v Laois, O’Moore Park, Portlaoise, 7.30pm, (Ref: Brendan Cawley, Kildare)
Meath v Louth, Páirc Tailteann, Navan, 7.30pm, (Ref: Damien Maher, Westmeath)
Dublin v Carlow, Parnell Park, 7.30pm, (Ref: Fergal Smyth, Longford)

DUBLIN U21F: Lorcan Molloy (St Anne’s); Michael Durcan (Kilmacud Crokes), David Byrne (Naomh Olaf), Niall McGovern (Na Fianna); Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s), Conor Mulally (Cuala), Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf); Emmet Ó Conghaile (Lucan Sarsfields), Glen Whelan (Ballinteer St John’s); Shane Carthy (Naomh Mearnóg), Michael Gibbs (Naomh Mearnóg), Danny Byrne (St Maur’s); Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes), Adam Caffrey (Na Fianna), Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock).

Subs: John Brian Carthy (St Jude’s), John Small (Ballymun Kickhams), Peter O’Curry (Ballinteer St John’s), Stephen Cunningham (St Sylvester’s), Paul Maguire (St Jude’s), Gavin Ivory (Raheny), Harry Dawson (Skerries Harps), Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge St), Niall Walsh (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh), Jack Smith (Skerries Harps), Paddy Reid (Raheny), Conor McHugh (Na Fianna), Ross McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes), Shane Boland (Castleknock),
Maitias Mac Donncha (Clontarf).

LAOIS U21F: Graham Brody (Portlaoise); Mark Dowling (The Heath), Mark O’Halloran (Courtwood), Stephen Attride (Killeshin); Kieran Lennon (Timahoe), Padraig McEvoy (Ballylinan), Dan Dunne (St Joseph’s); Adam Ryan (Portarlington), Matthew Campion (St Joseph’s); Kevin McGrath (Portarlington), Liam McGovern (Portlaoise), Damien O’Connor (Timahoe); Evan O’Carroll (Crettyard), Evan Costello (Emo), Paul Kingston (Barrowhouse).

MEATH U21F: Conor Mc Hugh (Oldcastle); Simon Carty (Dunderry), David Mc Quillan (St. Patrick’s), Cathal Finn (St. Peters, Dunboyne); Brian Dillon (Navan O’Mahony’s), Brian Moore (Duleek/Bellewstown), Neil Shortall (Curraha); Conor Sheridan (Simonstown Gaels), Cian O’Brien (Ratoath); Shane Barry (Simonstown Gaels), Conor Downey (Na Fianna), Daniel Queeney (Na Fianna); Eamon Wallace (Ratoath), Bobby O’Brien (Ratoath), Bryan McMahon (Ratoath).

Fitzgibbon Cup reaches last eight

GAA fixtures for the week ahead

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel