Dublin: 20°C Wednesday 4 August 2021

Colm Galvin returns from injury to start for Clare in league quarter-final against Limerick

Galvin missed the defeat to Waterford due to a back injury.

CLARE JOINT MANAGERS Gerry O’Connor and Donal Moloney have made just one change for the Banner’s Allianz Hurling League quarter-final against neighbours Limerick on Sunday.

Colm Galvin Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Colm Galvin comes into the team for his younger brother Ian, with Cathal Malone moving from midfield to wing-forward.

The elder Galvin went off injured with a back injury against Wexford and as a result missed last weekend’s defeat to the Deise, but he’s been passed fit for the Shannonside derby.

Clare enjoyed a 3-17 to 2-16 victory over Limerick in their last meeting in the Munster SHC last year.

Limerick boss John Kiely has made two changes, with Richie McCarthy and David Reidy replaced by Seamus Hickey and Kyle Hayes.


1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)

2. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber)
3. Conor Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
4. Jack Browne (Ballyea)

5. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
6. David McInerney (Tulla)
7. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)

8. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

10. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
11. John Conlon (Clonlara)
12. David Reidy (Éire Óg Inis)

13. Conor McGrath (Cratloe)
14. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
15. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg Inis)


16. Andrew Fahy (Whitegate)
17. Mikey O’Malley (Kilmaley)
18. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
19. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe)
20. Daragh Corry (Tulla)
21. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
22. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)
23. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin)
24. Niall Deasy (Ballyea)
25. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
26. Mikey O’Neill (Kilmaley)


1. Nicky Quaid (Effin)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Seamus Hickey (Murroe Bohe)
4. Richie English (Doon)

5. Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
6. Declan Hannon (Adare)
7. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)

8. Paul Browne (Bruff)
9. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)
11. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)

13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh)
15. Barry Murphy (Doon)


16. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)
17. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
18. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
19 .Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock)
20. Pat Ryan (Doon)
21. David Reidy (Dromin- Athlacca)
22. Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
23. Andrew La Touche (Cosgrove Monaleen)
24. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
25. Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock)
26. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

O’Shea ruled out with injury for Kerry but Geaney makes quick recovery to play Kildare

4 changes for Kilkenny ahead of league quarter-final against Offaly

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel