Advertisement

The motives behind that Holmes-Connelly interview and the 'very harsh' criticism of Aidan O'Shea

Conor Mortimer gives his thoughts on the recent issues surrounding the Mayo footballers.

CONOR MORTIMER HAS questioned the motives behind the interview Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly gave last December where they criticised a number of current Mayo players.

Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

The pair resigned in controversial circumstances after the 2015 season, when the Mayo panelโ€™s vote of no confidence effectively forced their hand.

Holmes and Connelly gave a hard-hitting version of events during the interview five months ago, calling out several senior players including Aidan Oโ€™Shea, his older brother Seamus, and Alan Dillon.

The former joint-managers said they spoke out for the good of Mayo football, but thatโ€™s not something Mortimer agrees with.

โ€œI donโ€™t think their reasons were what they said,โ€ stated Mortimer. โ€œFor the better of Mayo football, clearly not. Clearly itโ€™s a negative for Mayo.

โ€œItโ€™s more rubbish on the pile thatโ€™s there already in relation to all the stuff that has gone on since 1951 in relation to us winning an All-Ireland.

โ€œYou need everything working very smoothly for you to go on and win an All-Ireland without needless stuff like that.

โ€œItโ€™s not a personal thing for me but they didnโ€™t really have a leg to stand on when the players came chomping. Them players know what itโ€™s like at the top-level and what it takes in training and preparation to be at the top-level.

โ€œAnd itโ€™s not the last youโ€™ll hear about it either. Some of them players will probably retire in the next year or two and theyโ€™ll have their piece to say as well. Thatโ€™s the nature of the beast unfortunately.โ€

Paddy Power Announce GAA Ambassadors 08 Former Mayo forward Conor Mortimer was speaking at a press conference where he was announced as Paddy Power's GAA ambassador. The former All Star will contribute a series of exclusive columns to the Paddy Power Blog throughout the championship in which heโ€™ll candidly discuss the key matches, tactics. lorraineosullivan lorraineosullivan

Mortimer felt it was inevitable that Holmes and Connelly would give their side of the story, given the circumstances of their departure.

โ€œIt was always going to happen. I know Holmesy and Noel. If youโ€™re effectively shafted, youโ€™re going to have an axe to grind at some stage. The timing of it, I donโ€™t really know the reasoning behind it.

โ€œObviously they waited until the championship was over. Iโ€™m not one to say whether what they said was true or false, I donโ€™t actually know. Generally, if players and specifics are mentioned, I donโ€™t think thereโ€™s too much untruth behind it.

โ€œRegardless whatโ€™s said in the paper, whether itโ€™s true or not, someone is reading it. Your mother, your sister or your brother and theyโ€™re ringing you. Then your friends are ringing you. You still feel it, regardless if itโ€™s true or not.

โ€œThe players that were mentioned in it would have felt it more than the players that werenโ€™t. I wouldnโ€™t say embarrassing, but it can paint you in a negative light regardless if itโ€™s true or not.

โ€œAs a squad, not so much because 90 percent of them would have thought theyโ€™re just getting their back now for us getting rid of them.โ€

Aidan Oโ€™Shea Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Current boss Stephen Rochford has left Aidan Oโ€™Shea on the bench for Sundayโ€™s Connacht opener against Sligo. For Mortimer, the much-maligned Breaffy man should be played at midfield and left there once he gets his fitness levels up to the required standard.

โ€œThe positional sense of Aidan is primarily important for Mayo, to play him in a position and leave him in that position. Iโ€™d prefer to see him at midfield, heโ€™s better there, he needs to get his fitness levels to a level of playing at midfield for 70 minutes.

โ€œIโ€™d like to see him midfield but the way the game is gone you need to be seriously fit to play midfield. You need to be full of legs up and down the field, I donโ€™t know has he that just yet. His best games consecutively have been at midfield.

โ€œThe positional thing is the big one, Rochford needs to sort that out this year for Aidan. If weโ€™re to win anything heโ€™s going to be a primary player for us, if he doesnโ€™t play well we will struggle to win games, thereโ€™s no two ways about it

โ€œThatโ€™s not pressure, thatโ€™s the reality of being one of the top players. You have to perform to win games and if you donโ€™t we donโ€™t, effectively.โ€

Bernard Flynn and Darragh Maloney James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Bernard Flynn had a go at Oโ€™Shea on the RTE GAA Podcast yesterday, criticising the 26-year-old for posing for selfies after a recent challenge game against Meath while his teammates warmed down.

โ€œAido does his bit of media stuff and heโ€™s out and about there, itโ€™s very easy for people to have a pop off him,โ€ continued Mortimer.

โ€œAt times itโ€™s very harsh because a lot of the criticism will come from within, itโ€™s a lot of Mayo people that would be on his case. I wouldโ€™ve found that over the years, Ciaran McDonald wouldโ€™ve found that over the years, thatโ€™s the hardest part, itโ€™s your own.

โ€œIn other counties, Kerry, Tyrone, not so much Dublin, regardless of what you are or what you say youโ€™re one of their own as such, the criticism media wise you deal with it, itโ€™s part and parcel of what the media are.

โ€œThatโ€™s why people read papers, they see headlines, they see criticisms and whatever it is of players. If you put yourself out there you have to be prepared to take the bite when it comes, same with Twitter and social media, youโ€™re on it, youโ€™re ready for the backlash if you do or say something.โ€

โ€œThe best way for him to answer is on the field, lead his team the way he can lead it, heโ€™s done it numerous times over the last five or six years since he broke onto the Mayo team as a young fella. Itโ€™s a big year, he needs to step it up another gear.

โ€œFrom what I hear down below heโ€™s keeping his head down, heโ€™s training away and is ready to play starting this weekend.โ€

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

No room for Aidan Oโ€™Shea as Stephen Rochford names Mayo team for Sligo clash

Matt Fitzpatrick set to face Donegal as Joe Brolly helps overturn 48-week ban

Close
19 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Tony Boyle
    Favourite Tony Boyle
    May 19th 2017, 7:50 AM

The criticism of o shea is harsh because too much is expected of a player who is simply decent not great.

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Favourite John O'Shaughnessy
    May 19th 2017, 5:37 PM

@Tony Boyle: His heart is really in Kerryโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

Mute Michael Casserly
    Favourite Michael Casserly
    May 19th 2017, 8:22 AM

Good man Mort! Whatever way heโ€™s perceived himself in footballing circles and that of the media heโ€™s always been a gentleman behind the facade! A fantastic footballer too! Same goes for Aidan O Shea, donโ€™t judge a book by its cover, the man is only human! Fc#k the begrudgersโ€ฆ

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    May 19th 2017, 7:02 AM

Holmes and Connelly left the jobs with dignity and respect, then they annoyingly did that stupid interview and destroyed any admiration and regard they were held in. Managers, who get reimbursed far more than players, should be very careful about any gripes they think they need to talk about when they leave a job. Leave the pettiness to ex-players and has beens. Giving out about selfies with fans. Giving out about ignoring fans. At the end of the day theyโ€™re amateur players so quit hounding them.

Mute Brendan p
    Favourite Brendan p
    May 19th 2017, 8:58 AM

Great comment. O Shea made the day and gave lasting memories to those kids. He would have been a bum if he refused. Flynn and sources close to the meath team should look at themselves before deriding decent behaviour.

Mute John Flynn
    Favourite John Flynn
    May 19th 2017, 6:35 PM

@Brendan p: I think Flynn has a point. If youโ€™re signing autographs/taking selfish, you do it on your own time not while the rest of your team mates are warming down or in a huddle. It smacks if elitism, it gives the opportunity for any journalist to have a pop rightly or wrongly.

On the point of the sport being amateur, the game is only amateur in name anymore. The training, dedication, commitment and celebrity side of things comes with that too. I know for a fact that Aidan Oโ€™Shea makes plenty of money of his own brand, heโ€™s at the opening of a crisp packet out west and whoโ€™d blame him, fair play to him making a few quid. But the more he gets himself out there via instagram, Facebook, Twitter etc the more heโ€™ll get paid for that opening of a crisp packet.
    In my opinion though, If you are looking to win an all Ireland, your โ€œstar playerโ€ should be trying to at least look like heโ€™s the same as everyone else

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    May 19th 2017, 9:22 AM

Why doesnโ€™t Bernard gripe that the Meath kids were seeking out Aidan for photos instead of their own team.

Mute dead right
    Favourite dead right
    May 19th 2017, 10:35 AM

@Keith: they would piss themselves with excitement if they seen a fella who actually win something on the big day

Mute David Walshe
    Favourite David Walshe
    May 19th 2017, 10:58 AM

@Keith: Nail on the head.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    May 19th 2017, 8:29 AM

HOLMSEY , FFS , couldnโ€™t read another wordsy after that .

Mute dead right
    Favourite dead right
    May 19th 2017, 8:56 AM

@Gerry Campbell: then he backed it up with aido

Mute dead right
    Favourite dead right
    May 19th 2017, 8:32 AM

all cock and nonesnce the fact is mayo on the big day are simply just not good enough.

Mute Damien O'Cรกthail
    Favourite Damien O'Cรกthail
    May 19th 2017, 9:18 AM

@dead right: your dead right

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    May 19th 2017, 8:21 AM

MAYO FOTBALL AKIN TO A VERY POOR SOAP OPERA.DOOMED TO FAILURE YET AGAIN.

Mute Desheen
    Favourite Desheen
    May 19th 2017, 8:32 AM

@Michael cunnane: no need to shout!

Mute scutterpumps
    Favourite scutterpumps
    May 19th 2017, 11:30 AM

@Michael cunnane: like your team spuds.lol

Mute Damien O'Cรกthail
    Favourite Damien O'Cรกthail
    May 19th 2017, 9:17 AM

Conor who?

Mute Finnster
    Favourite Finnster
    May 19th 2017, 3:39 PM

Conor Mortimer is a dose. Another Mayo man who never won anything .

Mute dead right
    Favourite dead right
    May 19th 2017, 8:16 PM

@Finnster: bit harsh he put new York and London to the sword a couple of times

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.