This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 18 °C Saturday 23 June, 2018

No room for Aidan O'Shea as Stephen Rochford names Mayo team for Sligo clash

All-Ireland U21 medalist Fergal Boland makes his first start at wing-forward.

Image: Tom Beary/INPHO

STEPHEN ROCHFORD HAS opted to start Mayo’s Connacht SFC quarter-final on Sunday without talisman Aidan O’Shea.

Rochford named his team this morning with Ger Cafferkey returning from an injury layoff to start at full-back, despite not playing a minute of league football this spring.

O’Shea is the notable absentee having only returned to action for the latter stages of the Division 1 campaign. The Breaffy man missed the majority of the league after hurting his ankle while training with the Sligo All Stars basketball team in January.

He made appearances off the bench in Mayo’s final two games against Tyrone and Donegal, and Rochford has decided to keep the 26-year-old in reserve for Sunday’s tie in Castlebar.

Elsewhere, 2016 All-Star defender Brendan Harrison is ruled out through injury, while youngster Fergal Boland makes his first championship start at wing-forward.

Sligo remain unchanged from their preliminary round win over New York.


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Chris Barrett (Belmulet)
3. Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

5. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
6. Lee Keegan (Westport)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
9. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)

10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
11. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)
12. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy)

13. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber)
15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)


1. Aidan Devaney

2. Ross Donavan
3. Charlie Harrison
4. Eoin McHugh

5. Keelan Cawley
6. Brendan Egan
7. John Kelly

8. Paddy O’Connor
9. Adrian McIntyre

10. Neil Ewing
11. Mark Breheny
12. Kyle Cawley

13. Stephen Coen
14. Pat Hughes
15. Adrian Marren

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Matt Fitzpatrick set to face Donegal as Joe Brolly helps overturn 48-week ban

Poll: Is Dublin’s quest for a Leinster senior football 7-in-a-row a fait accompli?

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel