This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Tuesday 18 February, 2020

Rebels announce team to take on Clare in league encounter

Cork are in action at Pairc Ui Rinn on St Patrick’s Day.

Conal O’hAinifein with Sam Ryan Cork back Sam Ryan (pictured here alongside Clare's Conall O’hAinifein in the McGrath Cup final) returns. Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

CORK SENIOR FOOTBALL manager Ronan McCarthy has named his team to face Clare in Division Two of the Allianz Football League this weekend.

The Rebels, who are chasing promotion, host the Banner County at Pairc Ui Rinn on Saturday (7pm).

Having seen his side defeat Meath 2-16 to 1-15 at Paric Tailteann last Sunday, McCarthy brings Sam Ryan into his backline for Brian O’Driscoll.

The midfield pairing of Ian Maguire and Cilian O’Hanlon remains intact, but there are two changes in the forwards – Peter Kelleher and Michael Hurley getting the nod for Sean White and Ruairi Deane.

Cork (v Clare)

1. Mark White (Clonakilty)

2. Sam Ryan (St Finbarrs)
3. Jamie O Sullivan (Bishopstown)
4. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)

5. Matthew Taylor (Mallow)
6. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
7. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs) (captain)
9. Cillian O Hanlon (Kilshannig)

10. Kevin O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
11. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
12. Peter Kelleher (Kimichael)

13. John O Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
14. Colm O Neill (Ballyclough)
15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)


16. Ryan Price (O Donovan Rossa)
17. Sean Wilson (Douglas)
18. Micheal McSweeney (Newcestown)
19. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
20. Daniel O Callaghan (Clyda Rovers)
21. Cian Dorgan (Ballincollig)
22. Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarrs)
23. Donnacha O Connor (Ballydesmond)

Elsewhere in Division Two, Roscommon have made two changes to their team for their meeting with Cavan at Dr Hyde Park on Sunday (2pm), as Fergal Lennon and Brian Stack come into the defence for John McManus and Seanie McDermott.

Roscommon (v Cavan)

1. James Featherston (Roscommon Gaels)

2. David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
3. Peter Domican (St Brigid’s)
4. Fergal Lennon (Clann na nGael)

5. Ronan Daly (Padraig Pearses)
6. Brian Stack (St Brigid’s)
7. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)

8. Tadhg O’Rourke (Tulsk)
9. Cathal Compton (Strokestown)

10. Ciarán Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
11. Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)
12. Conor Devaney (Kilbride (captain)

13. Donie Smith (Boyle)
14. Ciaran Lennon (Clann na nGael)
15. Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)


16. Colm Lavin (Éire Óg)
17. Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)
18. Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses)
19. Enda Smith (Boyle)
20. Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
21. Ian Kilbride (St Brigid’s)
22. Philip Neilan (Fuerty)
23. Seanie McDermott (Western Gaels)
24. Shane Killoran (Elphin)
25. Tadhg McKenna (Boyle)
26. Ultan Harney (Clann na nGael)

Commuting from Coventry and pucking about on a rugby pitch: One hurler’s journey to Saturday’s All-Ireland final

Being told to retire at 26 due to a heart condition and coming through the Nemo ‘over-age system’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel