Dublin: 14°C Monday 16 May 2022

Casey hits the net twice as Cork defeat Clare in Munster IHC semi final

The curtain-raiser took place this afternoon in the Gaelic Grounds.

Cork 2-12
Clare 1-9

Two goals by attacker Colm Casey propelled Cork to success against Clare in today’s Munster intermediate hurling semi-final clash at the Gaelic Grounds.

Casey found the net in both halves as the Rebels saw off a Banner side who had entered the game on the back of a quarter-final victory over Waterford.

Cork enjoyed a commanding 1-10 to 1-3 lead at the interval with Casey rattling the net in the opening stages to see them move ahead by 1-2 to 0-0.

Clare fought back courtesy of centre-back Alan O’Neill’s accuracy from placed balls and then full-forward Aidan Lynch bundled the ball to the net past former Cork senior goalkeeper Martin Coleman, the captain of the current intermediate side, midway through the half.

That cut the gap to 1-6 to 1-2 but Cork, helped by the accuracy of Peter O’Brien from placed balls, powered clear before the interval with Mark Kennefick also impressing up front in the opening period.

Clare opened brightly in the second-half with Niall Arthur, a member of last year’s All-Ireland U21 winning setup, on the mark while Cathal O’Connell, another 2012 U21 star, also caught the eye in attack.

But Casey fired home his second goal of the game to see Cork go in front by 2-10 to 1-5 and they held on for victory by six points at the finish.

Clare’s Niall Arthur and Ed Finn of Cork

Scorers for Cork: Colm Casey 2-0, Peter O’Brien 0-6 (0-5f), Mark Kennefick 0-3, Martin Coleman (0-1f), Brian Lawton, Anthony Watson 0-1 each.
Scorers for Clare: Aidan Lynch 1-1, Niall Arthur (0-2f), Alan O’Neill (0-2f), Jamie Shanahan, Cathal O’Connell 0-2 each.

CORK: Martin Coleman (Ballinhassig); John O’Callaghan (Inniscarra), Eoin Dillon (Milford), Ed Finn (Ballinhassig); Tadhg Healy (Buttevant), Ross Cashman (Kilbrittain), Michael Walsh (Kildorrery); John Cronin (Lisgoold), Shane McCarthy (Ballinhassig); Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr), Peter O’Brien (Kildorrery), Stephen Dineen (Ballinhassig); Colm Casey (Inniscarra), Kevin Canty (Valley Rovers), Mark Kennefick (Ballygarvan).


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Subs: Barry Lawton (Castlemartyr) for Canty (25), Anthony Watson (Milford) for Dineen (43), Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy) for O’Callaghan (47), Nicky Kelly (Mayfield) for McCarthy (59).

CLARE: Keith Hogan (Clooney-Quin); Killian Ryan (Ruan), Darragh Corry (Tulla), Jack Browne (Ballyea); Stephen O’Halloran (Clarecastle), Alan O’Neill (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield), Cathal Chaplin (Broadford); Pa Sheehan (Sixmilebridge), Jarlath Colleran (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield); Gary Guilfoyle (Feakle), Mikey O’Neill (Kilmaley), Cathal Malone (Ennistymon); Niall Arthur (Inagh-Kilnamona), Aidan Lynch (Ruan), Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara).

Subs: Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge) for Guilfoyle (20), Enda Boyce (Cratloe) for Corry (26), Ger Arthur (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Arthur (44), Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea) for Sheehan (44), Shane O’Brien (Clonlara) for Mikey O’Neill (50)

Referee: Pat Casey (Waterford)

Shanahan inspires Déise to victory over Offaly

Wins for Cork, Kilkenny, Offaly and Clare in the Senior Camogie Championship

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: