File photo of Coakley. James Crombie/INPHO
Rebel Yell

Cork earn first win as Coakley makes the difference against Fermanagh

The Rebels notched 1 – 3 without reply before the break in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Cork 1 – 14

Fermanagh 0 – 9

CORK CHALKED UP their first league win of 2017 with a comfortable eight-point victory at home to Fermanagh.

The Rebels led from the start, with a crucial run of 1-3 without reply before half-time proving the winning move.

Cork were the dominant side despite playing against the wind in the first-half, with captain Paul Kerrigan opening up the Erne defence for their first two scores of the game, although the latter effort was a goal-chance fired just over.

Niall Coakley and John O’Rourke added to Cork’s lead, with Tomás Corrigan’s point the only resistance until Sean Quigley converted two long placed balls to narrow the gap to one, four points to three.

Cork then delivered the decisive blow of the game, Donncha O’Connor’s point followed by a goal. O’Connor set up the chance, playing in Kerrigan, who fed Coakley for the finish. Further points from Coakley, a free, and Kerrigan extended the lead to seven.

Eddie Courtney’s point in reply made it 1-7 to 0-4 at the interval.

The gap remained at six as the sides traded three points each at the outset of the second-half, with Brian O’Driscoll, Coakley and Luke Connolly points negated by the boot of Quigley.

Kerrigan could’ve had a goal only for Thomas Treacy to make a low stop, but it was hardly needed.

A Coakley free and Kerrigan point bookmarked Ryan Jones and Aidan Breen’s scores – the latter after Ken O’Halloran saved from Eoin Donnelly.

Late scores from Kerrigan, who could have goaled, Brian O’Driscoll and Mark Collins sealed the two points.

Scorers for Cork: Niall Coakley (1-4, 3fs); Paul Kerrigan (0-4); Brian O’Driscoll (0-2); John O’Rourke, Donncha O’Connor, Luke Connolly, Donal Óg Hodnett (0-1 each).

Scorers for Fermanagh: Sean Quigley (0-5, 3fs, 1 ’45); Tomás Corrigan, Eddie Courtney, Aidan Breen, Ryan Jones (0-1 each).


16 Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)

4 Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)
3 Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
26 Michael Shields (St Finbarr’s)

5 Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
6 James Loughrey (Mallow)
7 Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)

8 Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
9 Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)

10 Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
11 Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
12 John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)

13 Niall Coakley (St Jude’s, Dublin)
21 Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond)
15 Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers) (Captain)


18 Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough) for O’Connor (53)
25 Mark Collins (Castlehaven) for O’Rourke (55)
17 Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) for Crowley (60)
20 Donal Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa) for Connolly (62)
14 Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael) for Coakley (67)
24 Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) for B O’Driscoll (70)


1 Thomas Treacy (Devenish)

2 Mickey Jones (Derrygonnelly)
3 Che Cullen (Belnaleck)
4 Barry Mulcrone (Devenish)

5 Declan McCusker (St Joseph’s)
6 Ryan McCluskey (Enniskillen Gaels)
7 Lee Cullen (Belnaleck)

8 Eoin Donnelly (Coa) (Captain)
9 Ryan Hyde (Maguiresbridge)

10 Aidan Breen (Tempo)
24 Paul McCusker (St Joseph’s)
12 Ryan Lyons (Erne Gaels)

13 Eddie Courtney (Aghadrumsee)
14 Sean Quigley (Roslea)
15 Tomás Corrigan (St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh)


25 Ryan Jones (Derrygonnelly) for P McCusker (ht)
22 Kane Connor (Belnaleck) for Lyons (ht)
21 James McMahon (Roslea) for McCluskey (53)
20 Darryl Keenan (Tempo) for Corrigan (55)
23 Paddy Reihill (Enniskillen Gaels) for D McCusker (60)

Referee: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow).

Farcical situation in Omagh as Tyrone-Cavan is called off just an hour before throw-in

Rory in Wonderland falls down a rabbit hole, Father Ted and LOI and the week’s best sportswriting

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.