Cork manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy. James Crombie/INPHO
making the cut

Five out and two in as Cork hurlers finalise senior championship panel

Jimmy Barry-Murphy has shaken up his panel ahead of the Munster championship tie against Waterford.

CORK HAVE SHAKEN up their panel as they focus their preparations on the championship after last Sunday’s league exit against Tipperary.

Cork face Waterford in Semple Stadium in their Munster opener on May 25th and manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy has trimmed his panel before that game.

Killian Murphy, Stephen White, Michael O’Sullivan and Colm Spillane have all been released from the panel, while Michael Cahalane was not considered due to his upcoming Leaving Cert examinations. All five players have seen action during the league this spring while Murphy and White came on as substitutes in last September’s All-Ireland final replay loss.

Youghal’s Bill Cooper, part of the CIT team that reached the Fitzgibbon Cup final and a player who previously featured for the Cork seniors under Denis Walsh, and Mallow’s Cormac Murphy, part of the UCC team that contested the Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final, are the new additions to the squad.

Dual players Eoin Cadogan, Aidan Walsh and Damien Cahalane are all included with management set to continue to liaise with their Cork football counterparts over their schedules.

That trio are additions to this year’s panel along with Eoin Keane, Killian Burke, Mark Ellis, Murphy, Paul Haughney, Brian Lawton, Alan Cadogan and Cooper.

Cork selector Johnny Crowley confirmed that the panel will continue to be monitored.

“The players that have been left off the panel will go back to their clubs and we’ll continue to keep an eye on them. The door isn’t closed for anyone and there’s a bit of a break now before the championship.

“With the lads on the football panel, we’ll be reviewing it on a fortnightly basis as regards who they’ll be involved with. There’s been a lot of communication during the league and it’s worked well so far.”

Cormac Murphy Cormac Murphy is one of the new Cork faces. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Here’s the panel in full:


Goalkeepers – Anthony Nash (Kanturk), Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)

Defenders – Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown), Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers), Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarr’s), Eoin Keane (St. Finbarr’s), Killian Burke (Midleton), Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), William Egan (Kilbrin), Eoin Cadogan (Douglas), Mark Ellis (Millstreet), Cormac Murphy (Mallow), Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields), Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk).

Midfield/Forwards – Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields), Paul Haughney (Midleton) Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown), Aidan Walsh (Kanturk), Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr), Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s), Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), Conor Lehane (Midleton), Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum), Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline), Brian Hartnett (Midleton), Alan Cadogan (Douglas), Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields), Bill Cooper (Youghal), Stephen Moylan (Douglas), Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne).

Here’s all seven goals from the Tipperary and Cork showdown in Thurles yesterday

Bubbles the scoring star as Tipperary win seven-goal thriller against Cork