This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Sunday 9 December, 2018

Cork All-Ireland winner Murphy part of selection team under new hurling boss Meyler

The Rebels will have new management in 2018.

CORK ALL-IRELAND winner Kieran ‘Fraggy’ Murphy will join new senior hurling manager John Meyler as a selector for the 2018 season.

Kieran Murphy Kieran Murphy celebrating Cork's 2004 All-Ireland final victory. Source: INPHO

Meyler was appointed manager last month as he takes over from Kieran Kingston and he has brought Sarsfields club man Murphy and Bishopstown’s Donal O’Mahony on board with him as selectors.

A member of the Cork U21 hurling management will complete Meyler’s selection team as the St Finbarr’s man is taking charge for a two-year term.

John Meyler New Cork hurling manager John Meyler. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

The selectors were ratified at a Cork county board meeting last night along with the underage management teams in the county.

Murphy worked alongside Meyler this year in a coaching capacity with the Cork U21 side that reached the Munster final against eventual All-Ireland champions Limerick.

As a player he won two All-Ireland senior hurling medals with Cork, starting in attack in the 2004 success over Kilkenny and 2005 win over Galway.

He had previously won an All-Ireland minor hurling medal with Cork in 2001 and would go on to captain the senior side in 2010.

Kieran Murphy leads the team Kieran Murphy captaining the Cork senior hurling side in 2010. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

With his club Sarsfields, Murphy was part of a golden era for the club as they won Cork senior hurling crowns in 2008, 2010, 2012 and 2014.

Kieran Murphy lifts the Sean Murphy cup Murphy raises the trophy after Sarsfields 2008 Cork senior hurling final victory. Source: Neil Danton/INPHO

Bishopstown club man O’Mahony has been involved with the current squad in recent times as a goalkeeping coach under Kieran Kingston’s management where he worked with netminders Anthony Nash and Patrick Collins.

He has also been involved in coaching in Cork school Christian Brothers College who have been competing in the Dr Harty Cup in Munster.

The final member of Meyler’s selection team will come from the newly formed Cork U21 management team of Denis Ring, John O’Dwyer, Liam Martin, John Mortell and Fergus Ryan.

Denis Ring This year's Cork hurling manager Denis Ring. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

That group steered Cork to the Munster minor hurling title this year and the All-Ireland final where they lost out to Galway.

The Cork management teams in full for 2018 are:

Senior Hurling

John Meyler will be joined by Donal O Mahony (Bishopstown), Kieran Murphy (Sarsfields) and a member of the U21 hurling management which is to be confirmed.

U21 Hurling

Denis will be joined by John O Dwyer (Ballincollig), Liam Martin (Glen Rovers), John Mortell (Ballyhea) and Fergus Ryan (Mallow).

Minor Hurling (U17)

John Considine will be joined by Donal Burke (Midleton), Sean Crowley (Killeagh), Donal Collins (Blackrock) and Niall O Halloran (Ballinhassig)

Buy The42’s new book, Behind The Lines, here:

5-time Dublin All-Ireland senior winner Bastick brings his inter-county career to an end

Familiar face taking over Cork, new Munster hurling format and admiring Cluxton

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel