This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 15 July, 2020

Reigning champions Kerry and Cork name sides for Munster U20 football final

Tomorrow night’s decider throws in at 7.30pm at Páirc Uí Rinn.

Cork star Damien Gore and Kerry ace forward Donal Down O'Sullivan.
Cork star Damien Gore and Kerry ace forward Donal Down O'Sullivan.
Image: Inpho.

Updated at 22.22

REIGNING CHAMPIONS KERRY have named their side to face Cork in their Munster U20 football final at Páirc Uí Rinn tomorrow night [throw-in 7.30pm].

The Kingdom have made just one change to the side that defeated Limerick last week on a scoreline of 0-18 to 1-3 at Austin Stack Park.

Scartaglin forward Eddie Horan starts on the 40, with Cathal Ferriter the player to make way. Last year’s captain Donal Down O’Sullivan, who top-scored with 0-9 last time out, takes his place at full-forward once again with Fiachra Clifford lining out at corner forward.

Kilcummin star Seán O’Leary captains the side from half-back.

Meanwhile, Cork manager Keith Ricken has also made just one change to his starting XV, with Daniel O’ Connell in for the injured Eanna O’Hanlon. The Rebels set up the decider after a 31-point victory over Waterford last Friday.

On that occasion, their full-forward line of Mark Cronin, Cathal O’Mahony and Damien Gore were excellent, combining for 3-10 against the Déise.

Waterford’s Alan Kissane will referee tomorrow night’s encounter.

kerry Source: Kerry GAA/Twitter.


1. Brian Lonergan (Ballymacelligott)

2. Dan McCarthy (Kenmare Shamrocks)
3. Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks)
4. Michael Potts (Dr Crokes)

5. Cian Gammell (Killarney Legion)
6. Patrick Warren (Gneeveguilla)
7. Sean O’Leary (Kilcummin — captain)

8. Joseph O’Connor (Austin Stacks)
9. Barry Mahony (St Senan’s)

10. Sean Horan (Scartaglin)
11. Eddie Horan (Scartaglin)
12. Adam Donoghue (Castleisland Desmonds)

13. Fiachra Clifford (Laune Rangers)
14. Donal O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan)
15. Killian Falvey (Annascaul)


1. Josh O’ Keeffe (Newmarket)

2. Michael O’ Mahony (Knocknagree)
3. Maurice Shanley (Clonakilty)
4. Paul Ring (Aghabullogue)

5. Gearoid O’ Donovan (Newcestown)
6. Shane Hickey (Millstreet)
7. Peter O’ Driscoll (Ilen Rovers — captain)

8. Brian Hartnett (Douglas)
9. Daniel O’ Connell (Kanturk)

10. Colm Barrett (St Finbarrs)
11. Blake Murphy (St Vincents)
12. Mark Hodnett (Carbery Rangers)

13. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
14. Cathal O’ Mahony (Mitchelstown)
15. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)


16. Ian Giltinan (Carrigaline)
17. Jack McCarthy (Carrigaline)
18. Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys)
19. Sean Meehan (Kiskeam)
20. Rory MaGuire (Castlehaven)
21. Jack Murphy (Eire Óg)
22. Brian Hayes (St Finbarrs)
23. David Buckley (Newcestown)
24. Colm O’ Callaghan (Eire Óg)

Additional reporting by Paul Fennessy

Originally published at 20.59

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel