Cork minor football manager James Crombie/INPHO
Rebel Recovery

Cork overcome loss of injured stars to see off Limerick in Munster minor football opener

The Rebels had eight points to spare at the Gaelic Grounds tonight.

Cork 2-15
Limerick 2-7

CORK WERE LARGELY comfortable as they enjoyed an eight-point win over Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds last night to progress to the semi-finals of the Electric Ireland Munster MFC.

Despite missing injured stars Shane Kingston and Tom Bushe, the Rebels did enough in the first half to hold a 2-9 to 2-2 half-time lead and ensured that Limerick weren’t allowed back into the game in the second period.

Steven Sherlock scored 1-5 for the visitors, all of his tally coming in the first half with the goal a penalty on 15 minutes after David Lowney had been fouled. It put Cork 1-5 to 1-1 ahead – Mark Connolly’s goal had briefly helped Limerick to lead – and points from Sherlock (two) and Conor Hughes pushed Cork seven clear.

Six minutes before the interval, Connolly struck for another goal, doing well to win a delivery and beat two men, but Cork’s response was emphatic, Lowney palming home from Gary Murphy’s ball across.

Gary Murphy celebrates with Shane Kingston Shane Kingston (right) missed out through injury tonight for Cork. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

While Cork didn’t pull away fully after the restart, the scoreboard was kept warm as Stephen Leonard and Murphy both got among the scores. While Andrew White and Diarmuid Kelly got good points for Limerick, no more goal chances were forthcoming and the game meandered to its inevitable conclusion.

Cork face Kerry in the semi-final in Páirc Uí Rinn on May 13 while Limerick clash with Waterford next Wednesday in the first semi-final play-off.

David Lowney with Glen O'Reilly David Lowney (right - file photo) netted for Cork tonight. Tommy Grealy / INPHO Tommy Grealy / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Steven Sherlock 1-5 (1-0 penalty, 0-2f), David Lowney 1-1, Stephen Leonard 0-4 (0-2f), Gary Murphy 0-2, Daniel Ó Duinnín, Conor Hughes, Eoin O’Brien 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Mark Connolly 2-0, Andrew White 0-4 (0-4f), Diarmuid Kelly, James Ryan (free), Paul Maher 0-1 each.


1. Chris Kelly (Éire Óg)

2. Nathan Walsh (Douglas)
3. Tiarnán O’Connell (Clonakilty)
4. Conor Dennehy (St Finbarr’s)

5. Seán Powter (Douglas)
6. Ronan Walsh (Castlehaven)
7. Kevin Dwyer (Macroom)

8. Daniel Ó Duinnín (Cill na Martra)
9. Eoin O’Brien (Douglas)

13. Seán McEvoy (Clonakilty)
10. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
12. Conor Hughes (Canovee)

20. Stephen Leonard (Ilen Rovers)
11. Gary Murphy (Castletownbere)
15. Steven Sherlock (St Finbarr’s).

19. Séamus Madigan (Buttevant) for O’Connell (10, injured)
21. Ryan Fowley (Buttevant) for Hughes (43)
17. Cathal O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers) for Ó Duinnín (52, injured)
24. Seán Lucey (Ballincollig) for Dennehy (54)
22. Shane O’Neill (Kildorrery) for Sherlock (58)
18. Shane O’Driscoll (Glanmire) for Murphy (58)


1. Aaron Murphy (Fr Caseys)

4. Fionn Murphy (Kilteely-Dromkeen)
3. Luke O’Connell (Mungret)
2. David Hanley (Ballysteen)

5. John Wallace (Glin)
6. Seán Ivess (Newcastlewest)
7. Seán Murphy (Newcastlewest)

8. Adam Kerins (St Senan’s)
9. Michael Whelan (Hospital-Herbertstown)

10. Andrew White (Rathkeale)
11. Mikey Morrissey (Rathkeale)
12. Ed Sheehy (Granagh-Ballingarry)

13. Diarmuid Kelly (Newcastlewest)
14. Mark Connolly (Adare)
15. James Ryan (Athea)

22. Adam Storan (Mungret) for Morrissey (25)
18. Paul Maher (Adare) for Sheehy (half-time)
16. Richard Hayes (St Senan’s) for White (51)
20. Dillon Corrigan (Kildimo-Pallaskenry) for Kelly (54)
19. Gearóid Brennan (Claughaun) for Fionn Murphy (60)
17. Cameron Stephenson (St Patrick’s) for Wallace (60)

Referee: Seán Lonergan (Tipperary)

Jack O’Connor’s Kerry minor side off to great Munster start with 11-point win over Clare

Job done by Tipp as they claim 12-point Munster minor success against Waterford