Shane Barrett has been named to start for Cork. Tommy Dickson/INPHO
And The Team Is...

Kingston drops to bench for Cork as Carey starts All-Ireland semi-final for Kilkenny

The sides will do battle on Sunday afternoon.

CORK HAVE MADE one change to the side that will take on Kilkenny in the All-Ireland SHC semi-final on Sunday afternoon [Throw-in, 3.30pm].

Shane Barrett comes in to the starting 15 as Shane Kingston drops to the bench.

Barrett is set for his first senior championship start, having made his debut in 2020 against Dublin. He has made a huge impression in recent weeks, scoring 1-4 off the bench in Cork’s three championship games to date. Last month he also won an All-Ireland U20 medal when Cork defeated Dublin in the 2020 final, but has been ineligible for the 2021 underage season due to his senior commitments.

Experienced defenders Damien Cahalane and Eoin Cadogan have returned to the Cork bench. They last played in the Munster semi-final against Limerick, absent since then due to appendicitis and groin injury respectively.

Meanwhile, Kilkenny have also unveiled the side that will take to the field on Sunday, with Michael Carey included among three changes in the starting side.

The Young Irelands player, a son of DJ, comes into the half-back line to replace Conor Browne. Conor Fogarty slots in at midfield to partner Richie Reid while Alan Murphy comes in for Martin Keoghan in attack.


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons), 3. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers), 4. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra).

5. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum), 6. Mark Coleman (Blarney), 7. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills).

8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville), 9. Luke Meade (Newcestown).

10. Conor Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), 11. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s), 12. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own).

13. Shane Barrett (Blarney), 14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), 15. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields).


16. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)
17. Sean O’Leary-Hayes (Midleton)
18. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
19. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
20. Niall Cashman (Blackrock)
21. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
22. Billy Hennessy (St Finbarr’s)
23. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
24. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
25. Alan Connolly (Blackrock)
26. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan), 2. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels), 3. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels), 3. 

5. James Maher (St Lachtain’s), 6. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan), 7. Michael Carey (Young Irelands)

8. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own) 9. Richie Reid (Shamrocks Ballyhale)

10. Adrian Mullen (Shamrocks Ballyhale) 11. John Donnelly (Thomastown) , 12. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)

13. Eoin Cody (Shamrocks Ballyhale), 14. TJ Reid (Shamrocks Ballyhale), 15. Alan Murphy (Glenmore) 

Substitutes listed in graphic below

Bernard Jackman and Murray Kinsella are joined by Craig Ray on The42 Rugby Weekly to preview the deciding third Lions Test on Saturday.

The42 Rugby Weekly / SoundCloud

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel