Champions: Ruairi Deane lifts the cup for the Rebels. @OfficialCorkGAA
Rebels Abú

Cork clinch Munster junior football title

The Rebels wrapped up the provincial crown with a win over Waterford in Fraher Field tonight.

Cork 1-18
Waterford 0-9

CORK ARE THE Munster junior football champions after they breezed to a 12-point win against Waterford.

Rory O’Sullivan scored the game’s only goal as the Rebels clinched their 29th provincial title in Fraher Field tonight.

Cork were forced into a change shortly before throw-in when centre forward Andrew O’Brien was ruled out due to illness and Kevin O’Driscoll was called up in his place.

It was the home side which started the strongest as Waterford kicked the opening scores for an 0-2 to 0-0 lead.

But Cork responded quickly and once they moved in front through a Cathal Vaughan free in the 10th minute, they led for the remainder of the match.

Scores from Fiachra Lynch, Micheál O Laoire and AJ O’Connor helped them to a seven-point lead at the break, 0-9 to 0-2.

And with Waterford struggling to get scores of their own, the game was all but over when O’Sullivan scored his goal in the 48th minute.

CORK: David Hanrahan (Douglas); AJ O’Connor (Kiskeam), Eoin O’Mahony (Macroom), Kevin Harrington (Bantry Blues); Richard O’Sullivan (Kinsale), Rory O’Sullivan (Argideen Rgrs), Sean Kiely (Macroom); Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues), Micheal Ó Laoire (Naomh Abán); Cathal Vaughan (Iveleary), Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCarthaigh), Colm O’Driscoll (Tadgh MacCárthaigh); Eoghan Buckley (St Michael’s), Fiachra Lynch (Valley Rovers), David Harrington (Adrigole).
WATERFORD: Tom Wall (Nire); Peter Crowley (St Saviours); Barry Prendergast (Kilrossanty); Shane Lannon (Stradbally); Ciaran Buckley (Bonmahon); Eddie Rockett (Stradbally); James O’Mahony (Ballinacourty); Brian Phelan (Ballinameela); Stephen Prendergast (Kilrossanty); Darren Guiry (Nire); Brendan McGarr (Kilrossanty); David Grey (Stradbally); John Wall (Colligan); Gavin Crotty (Dungarvan); David Power (Kilrossanty).
Referee: Sean Joy (Kerry)

Limerick name unchanged side for Munster hurling final