This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 11 December, 2018

Dublin, Clare and Derry senior stars amongst winners at the AIB GAA club provincial awards

Diarmuid Connolly, Tony Kelly and Chrissy McKaigue were all honoured.

pjimage (5) Diarmuid Connolly, Tony Kelly and Chrissy McKaigue are amongst the award winners. Source: INPHO

TONY KELLY, DIARMUID Connolly and Con O’Callaghan are amongst eleven of the country’s top GAA club players that have been honoured with AIB GAA provincial club awards for this year.

Ballyea star Kelly, Cuala forward O’Callaghan and Slaughtneil attacker Cormac O’Doherty all collected hurling awards.

The Gaelic football honours went to St Vincent’s marksman Connolly, Dr Crokes player Daithi Casey, Corofin’s Ian Burke and Slaughtneil’s Chrissy McKaigue.

And in camogie, Orlaith McGrath and Aoife Ní Cháiside of finalists Sarsfields and Slaughtneil were joined by Shelly Farrell of Thomastown and Eimear McDonnell of Burgess-Duharra.


Connacht – Orlaith McGrath, Sarsfields
Leinster – Shelly Farrell, Thomastown
Munster – Eimear McDonnell, Burgess-Duharra
Ulster – Aoife Ní Cháiside, Slaughtneil


Connacht – Ian Burke, Corofin
Leinster – Diarmuid Connolly, St Vincents
Munster – Daithi Casey, Dr Crokes
Ulster – Chrissy McKaigue, Slaughtneil


Leinster - Con O’Callaghan, Cuala
Munster – Tony Kelly, Ballyea
Ulster – Cormac O’Doherty, Slaughtneil
*No award for Connacht given automatic qualification

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Darran O’Sullivan scored one of the finest goals you’re ever likely to see yesterday

Big setback for the Rossies as two key players won’t be involved in 2017

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel