Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 11°C
INPHO/James Crombie Midleton's Niall Motherway (ground) and Brian Kennedy of Templemore (standing).
# Schools GAA
Dr Harty Cup: Wins for Dungarvan, Templemore & Ardscoil Rís
Three of this year’s quarter-finals in the premier Munster colleges hurling competition took place this afternoon.

REIGNING CHAMPIONS DUNGARVAN Colleges, Our Lady’s (Templemore) and Ardscoil Rís all booked their places in the Dr Harty Cup semi-finals this afternoon.

Dungarvan Colleges were successful in the Waterford derby by 0-14 to 0-10 over Blackwater CS in the Fraher Field in Dungarvan.

Our Lady’s (Templemore) prevailed by the minimum, 2-5 to 0-10, against Midleton CBS in Cahir.

And Ardscoil Rís enjoyed a 0-14 to 1-6 against Doon CBS in the all-Limerick clash in Bruff.

An 0-8 haul from attacker Patrick Curran was central to Dungarvan Colleges victory over Blackwater CS. In a tightly-contested match the winners enjoyed a 0-7 to 0-6 lead at the interval.

The opening-half had been primarily a scoring battle between Curran and his Blackwater CS counterpart David Geary as both players hit five points apiece.

In the second-half Dungarvan Colleges started to insert daylight between the teams with Darragh Lyons and Colin Dunford assisting Curran in the scoring stakes.

Dungarvan Colleges had moved 0-11 to 0-7 clear by the end of the third quarter and ultimately held on for a four-point success.

They will meet the winners of tomorrow’s quarter-final between Thurles CBS and Castletroy College, in the semi-final on February 3rd.

Dungarvan Colleges Patrick Curran. INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan

Brian Kennedy was the match-winner for Our Lady’s Templemore as his late point secured them a 2-5 to 0-10 success against Midleton CBS.

In difficult weather conditions in Cahir, the Tipperary school had lead 2-3 to 0-6 at the interval.

Last year’s All-Ireland minor winner John McGrath raised their first green flag when his long-range free flew to the net and the second goal was registered by Drom-Inch player Tommy Nolan who fired home a superb ground shot.

Midleton CBS, inspired by midfielder Joe Mellerick who shot 0-8, drew level at 2-4 to 0-10 at the end of the third quarter but could not forge ahead.

Kennedy, who grabbed 0-3 overall, ensured Our Lady’s held on to reach their school’s first semi-final since 2011 when they were defeated by Charleville CBS.

In that semi-final they will face Ardscoil Rís, champions in 2010 and 2011, whreached the last four stage for the fifth successive year with a 0-14 to 1-6 win over Doon CBS.

Ardscoil Rís, who lead by 0-9 to 0-2 at the break, saw their corner-back Josh O’Halloran sent-off for a second yellow card offence just after half-time.

But they remained in control as they lead by 0-12 to 0-6 with ten minutes left and successfully closed the game out despite Doon CBS registering a late goal from Pat Cummins.

Ronan Lynch and Michael Casey were both outstanding in the half-back line while the scoring charge was lead up front by Cian O’Brien and Colin Crehan who shot 0-4 apiece with David Dempsey and Eoin Keogh notching a brace of points each.

Hurling stars set for college action

Wexford set for league life without Lyng