Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan The Dungarvan Colleges team that won last year's Dr Harty Cup.
# Schools GAA
Stage set for Dr Harty Cup quarter-finals
The last eight clashes in the prestigious Munster Colleges hurling competition take place this week.

THE LAST THREE Dr Harty Cup champions are amongst those in action in the competition’s quarter-final ties this week.

Three of the four matches are pencilled in for tomorrow afternoon while on Thursday the 2009 champions Thurles CBS will face off against Castletroy College.

Tomorrow afternoon the reigning champions Dungarvan Colleges will meet Blackwater CS (Lismore) in a local derby in the Fraher Field in Dungarvan.

Dungarvan Colleges can call on seven members of last year’s team – Kealan Looby, Tom Devine, Cormac Curran, Colin Dunford, Ryan Donnelly, Micheal Harney and Patrick Curran.

In addition Eamonn Crotty came on as a substitute in that final victory over Nenagh CBS last February.

Devine, Dunford and Harney were all members of the Waterford minor hurling side last year while the Blackwater CS trio of goalkeeper Sean Barry and the Bennett brothers, Kieran and Shane, were also part of that Déise outfit.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Elsewhere Our Lady’s (Templemore) will meet Midleton CBS in Cahir tomorrow. The Tipperary school can call on two members of last year’s Premier All-Ireland winning minor side to spearhead their challenge.

Loughmore-Castleiney’s John McGrath fired 1-21 over the course of the two-game All-Ireland minor final saga against Dublin last September. JK Brackens Colin O’Riordan was a substitute on that Tipperary side while both himself and McGrath won All-Ireland minor football medals in 2011.

Midleton CBS will be hoping to build on their form in the group stages where they managed to knock out last year’s All-Ireland champions Nenagh CBS. Adrian Kenneally, James McCarthy, Mark O’Keeffe, Darren Quirke, Niall Motherway, David Cahill and Shane Hegarty were all part of their side that reached the quarter-final stage last year.

The last game tomorrow sees Ardscoil Rís, champions in 2010 and 2011, meeting Doon CBS in Bruff. Survivors from last year’s semi-final replay defeat to Nenagh CBS include the Na Piarsaigh quartet of David Dempsey, Ronan Lynch, William O’Donoghue and Michael Foley, and Cian Lynch, Micheal O’Loughlin and Cian O’Brien.

Ronan Lynch and Cian Lynch were both prominent for the Limerick minor hurlers last year. Opponents Doon CBS also have a quartet of 2012 Limerick minor hurlers to call on in Richie English, Darragh Donovan, Stephen Ryan and Pat Ryan.

The final quarter-final is scheduled for Thursday in Sean Treacy Park in Tipperary Town with Thurles CBS meeting Limerick’s Castletroy College. Thurles CBS topped Group C with a 100% record from their four games played with last year’s Tipperary All-Ireland minor winners Ronan Maher, Stephen Cahill, Conor Lanigan and Sean Ryan amongst their ranks.

Castletroy College will be lead by Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, a Limerick minor hurler last year, Killian Enright and Edward Doyle.

Dr Harty Cup quarter-finals
Dungarvan Colleges v Blackwater CS (Lismore), Fraher Field, Dungarvan, 1.30pm.
Our Lady’s (Templemore) v Midleton CBS, Cahir, 1.30pm.
Árdscoil Rís (Limerick) v Doon CBS, Bruff, 1.30pm.
Thurles CBS v Castletroy College (Limerick), Sean Treacy Park, Tipperary Town, 1.30pm.

McGrath Cup: Tipperary knock out Cork

Comment: Cadogan had to make call on dual debate