Donall Farmer/INPHO
walk in the park

Dublin ease past Antrim into the Walsh Cup semi-finals

It was another easy win for Ger Cunnignham’s side.

​Dublin 0-28
Antrim 2-12

LIFE UNDER GER Cunningham continues to be good for Dublin who are through to the Walsh Cup semi-finals with the minimum of fuss.

New boss Cunningham enjoyed a 17-point win over DIT on his competitive debut and 11 points from David Treacy helped secured back to back triumphs.

Their reward is a Walsh Cup semi-final tie with Laois next weekend as the countdown begins to their February 15 Allianz league opener with Tipperary.

It was looking like another huge win at Parnell Park until a third quarter burst from Antrim, though Dublin still finished with 10 to spare.

Sub Ciaran Clarke scored 1-1 as the Saffrons rallied to leave just four in it with 20 minutes to go.

But they couldn’t push Dublin any further and were already weakened by the 42nd red card dismissal of Eoghan Campbell for a wild pull. Neil McManus also picked up a second yellow in injury-time.

Dublin were better overall as Cunningham experimented again and handed starts to Conor Murphy, Eoghan O’Donnell and Shane Stapleton.

They moved 0-14 to 0-5 clear after 30 minutes but an Eddie McCloskey Antrim goal gave the visitors hope.

Kevin Ryan’s side trailed 0-16 to 1-5 at half-time though were inspired in the third quarter by sub Clarke’s efforts.

But six second-half wides sapped their momentum and Dublin found scores easier to come by with four-in-a-row at one stage late on followed by two from sub Cian Boland.


Scorers for Dublin: David Treacy 0-11 (0-7f), Danny Sutcliffe 0-5, Mark Schutte 0-5, David O’Callaghan and Cian Boland 0-2 each, Joey Boland, Shane Stapleton and John Hetherton 0-1 each.

Scorers for Antrim: Eddie McCloskey and Ciaran Clarke 1-1 each,
Neil McManus 0-4 (0-3f), Paul Shiels 0-2 (0-2f), Matthew Donnelly, Conor McCann, Ciaran Johnson and Daniel McKernan 0-1 each.


1. Gary Maguire

4. Paul Schutte
3. Michael Carton
5. Shane Durkin

6. Peter Kelly
2. Conor Murphy
7. Eoghan O’Donnell

8. Ross O’Carroll
9. Joey Boland

23. John Hetherton
10. Shane Stapleton
12. Danny Sutcliffe

13. David O’Callaghan
11. Mark Schutte
15. David Treacy

20. Cian MacGiolla Bhride for Durkin (39)
25. Cian Boland for Hetherton (50)
22. Eamonn Dillon for Stapleton (63)


1. Chris O’Connell

2. Ryan McCambridge
3. Neal McAuley
4. Aaron Graffin

5. Simon McCrory
6. Conor McKinley
7. Odhran McFadden

8. Eoghan Campbell
9. Eddie McCloskey

12. Neil McManus
24. Matthew Donnelly
10. Ciaran Johnson

13. Conor McCann
11. Paul Shiels
15. PJ O’Connell

17. Jackson McGreevy for McFadden (18)
26. Ciaran Clarke for McCrory (h/t)
14. Tomas McCann for Donnelly (49)
25. Daniel McKernan for PJ O’Connell (58)
19. Barry McFall for Conor McCann (65)

Referee: Justin Heffernan (Wexford)

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.