Advertisement
Paul Mannion and Jack McCaffrey at Dublin's homecoming in 2023. Tom Maher/INPHO

Mannion and McCaffrey unlikely to play for Dublin in 2025, O'Neill taking time out from Armagh

Legendary goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton is set to go again for the Dubs.

PAUL MANNION AND Jack McCaffrey are โ€œunlikelyโ€ to play for Dublin in 2025, but legendary goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton is set to go again.

Dubs boss Dessie Farrell gave an update on player availability after this eveningโ€™s 1-17 to 1-15 win over Mayo in Croke Park, having already lost James McCarthy and Brian Fenton to retirement over the winter.

โ€œJack and Paul, these lads arenโ€™t ones for releasing retirement statements or whatever, but Iโ€™d say itโ€™s unlikely that the two lads will be involved with us this year,โ€ said Farrell.

โ€œOf course, the door is always open if thereโ€™s any change of hearts or change of minds, but the way discussions have gone, itโ€™s probably unlikely. Iโ€™m just being open and transparent about that. They know theyโ€™re more than welcome.

โ€œJack is very busy obviously in his profession (as a doctor), heโ€™s not working in Dublin this year, and Paul has significant commitments โ€” work and family and that type of thing as well. Itโ€™s unlikely, but we never close the door, and possibly, they donโ€™t want to either so weโ€™ll see how it goes.โ€

Conversations are ongoing with other players, including Michael Fitzsimons โ€” after his club All-Ireland win with Cuala โ€” and John Small. Smallโ€™s younger brother, Paddy, is involved despite some earlier doubt, while Farrell is considering calling up some more Cuala club winners.

On the return of nine-time All-Ireland winner Cluxton, Farrell said: โ€œStephen has been back with us, heโ€™s had a small little cleanout of the knee. Heโ€™s working his way back from that, but heโ€™s been involved from the start. Weโ€™re looking forward to having him back in the next couple of weeks, to full participation in training, we hope.โ€

stephen-cluxton-appeals-a-decison Stephen Cluxton with Paul Mannion. Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

The manager has bought in 16 new players to the panel, including former Dublin hurling captain Eoghan Oโ€™Donnell and ex-AFL player James Madden. Kevin Lahiff was among others to make impressive debuts tonight, while Davy Byrne is a welcome returnee.

โ€œFor us it has been a very positive experience,โ€ said Farrell of the rebuild and period of flux. โ€œThere is new energy and new blood around the place, it sort of brings you back to brass tacks and you see the hunger and the appetite that is there, that can be infectious in terms of rubbing off on other lads.

โ€œFor those fellas who have maybe stepped away recently or are thinking about their position at the minute, I can understand completely because they have been very successful as individual players and they have been wonderful ambassadors and role models and fantastic servants. They have left a wonderful legacy and you can understand with the demands of the game now and whatโ€™s involved if these fellas did want to step away or take time, thatโ€™s completely understandable and we respect that.

โ€œBut by the same token, our focus has to turn to the here and now and what the future is, that is what we are trying to do here, build that depth in the panel again and the nurturing of young players and emerging talent, trying to get them up to speed as quickly as we possibly can to keep that competitive edge within the squad because that makes us competitive then when we come to competition.โ€

rian-oneill-celebrate-after-the-game Rian O'Neill celebrates after last year's All-Ireland final win. Bryan Keane / INPHO Bryan Keane / INPHO / INPHO

Meanwhile, Armagh boss Kieran McGeeney has revealed that All-Star Rian Oโ€™Neill is taking time away from the county panel.

Oโ€™Neill did not feature in Armaghโ€™s league opener tonight, when they lost out 1-12 to 0-9 against Galway in Pearse Stadium.

โ€œHeโ€™s just taking a couple of months to himself, so just sort of see how that goes during the year,โ€ McGeeney told Off The Ball after the game in Salthill.

McGeeney was asked if there was a possibility that Oโ€™Neill would not be seen in Armagh colours this year?

โ€œWell, you hope not but every player has their own things.โ€

Close
3 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Rosaleen Fox
    Favourite Rosaleen Fox
    Sep 17th 2011, 10:47 AM

Looking closely on RTE to see ye but having no luck, no need to tell you to enjoy!

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel