Meath's James Toher battling with Dublin's Darren Kelly. Morgan Treacy/INPHO
Dominant Dubs

Gilroy's Dublin charges hit four goals as they claim Walsh Cup win in season opener

The Dubs were too strong for Meath tonight in Abbotstown.

Dublin 4-18
Meath 0-14

Fintan O’Toole reports from Abbotstown

PAT GILROY SAW his reign in charge of the Dublin hurlers get off to a winning start on a cold January night as they swept past Meath by 16 points.

Four goals, two in either half, enabled Dublin to create a strong platform for victory in this Bord Na Móna Walsh Cup tie.

Gilroy’s team were in front 2-11 to 0-7 at the midway mark with Robbie McMahon and Fionn Ó Riain-Broin both raising green flags.

In the second half Ó Riain-Broin repeated the trick with a clinical finish to the net and substitute Cian McBride had bagged Dublin’s third goal.

Paul Winters caught the eye from Dublin with 0-9 from full-forward as he demonstrated his accuracy from placed balls and open play.

James Regan and James Toher did their best to inspire a Meath team who entered the game off the back of a narrow win over Antrim last Saturday.

Pat Gilroy Dublin hurling boss Pat Gilroy. Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Dublin: Paul Winters 0-9 (0-6f, 0-1 ’65), Fionn Ó Riain-Broin 2-1, Fergal Whitely 0-4, Robbie McMahon, Cian McBride 1-0 each, Alan Moore 0-3, Cian Costello 0-1.

Scorers for Meath: James Regan 0-6 (0-6f), James Kelly 0-3, Eoin Marsh, Neil Heffernan, Paddy Conneely, Anthony Forde, James Toher 0-1 each.


1. Alan Nolan (St Brigid’s)

2. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
3. Bill O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Cian Hendricken (Naomh Mearnóg)

5. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)
6. Darren Kelly (Craobh Chiaráin)
7. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)

8. Johnny McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields)
9. Tom Connolly (St Vincent’s)

10. Robbie McMahon (Craobh Chiaráin)
11. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)
12. Cillian Costello (Naomh Barróg)

13. Alan Moore (St Vincent’s)
14. Paul Winters (St Brigid’s)
15. Fionn Ó Riain-Broin (St Judes)


22. Cian McBride (St Vincent’s) for McMahon (half-time)
18. Sean Ó Riain (Setanta) for McCaffrey (47)
21. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille) for Whitely (50)


1. Shane McGann (Kiltale)

2. Chris Lynch (Longwood)
3. Damien Healy (Longwood)
4. Shane Brennan (Kilmessan)

5. Sean McGrath (St Peter’s Dunboyne)
6. Jack Regan (Kiltale)
7. Keith Keoghan (Killyon)

8. Anthony Forde (Kiltale)
9. Michael O’Grady (St Peter’s Dunboyne)

10. James Kelly (Kiltale)
11. Joe Keena (Kilmessan)
12. James Toher (Trim)

13. Adam Gannon (Killyon)
14. Paddy Conneely (Kildalkey)
15. Neil Heffernan (Trim)


17. Pauric Kelly (Kiltale) for Brennan (half-time)
5. Sean McGrath (St Peter’s Dunboyne) for O’Grady (42)
25. Eoin Marsh (Kilmessan) for Forde (46)
21. Sean O’Hanrahan (Ratoath) for Conneely (56)

Referee: David Hughes (Carlow)

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Offaly miss late chances to win as Colm Basquel fires 1-6 for Dublin in draw

Brian Cody’s Kilkenny up and running with thumping 28-point win over Laois

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel