McMahon and Andrews both return as All-Ireland champions head to Healy Park

Dublin take on Mickey Harte’s Tyrone in Omagh this evening in the second round of the Super 8s.

Philly McMahon returns to corner back for Dublin.
Philly McMahon returns to corner back for Dublin.

JIM GAVIN HAS named two changes ahead of Dublin’s second round Super 8s clash with Tyrone in Omagh this evening.

The defending All-Ireland champions got up and running with a 2-15 to 0-16 defeat of Donegal at Croke Park last weekend.

From that starting XV Jack McCaffrey and Eoin Murchan drop out, with Philly McMahon and Paddy Andrews both returning to the line-up.

Tyrone will be hoping to add to impressive attacking displays in recent outings against Cork and Roscommon.

Mickey Harte’s side have racked up 7-44 in their last two games, but have not defeated Dublin in the championship since a quarter-final meeting in 2008.

Gavin’s side came out on top when the sides last met in the National Football League back in February, notching a five point win in Omagh.

Throw-in at Healy Park this evening is at 7pm.

Dublin team versus Tyrone:

1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnell’s)

2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)

5. Brian Howard (Raheny)
6. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Michael Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

10. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
11. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)

13. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Aaron Gallagher

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel