third test

Harrison starts for England as Cheika shakes up Wallabies XV

Eddie Jones is ruthlessly going after a series whitewash.

NORTHAMPTON BACK ROW Teimana Harrison has been named in England’s XV for the final Test against Australia on Saturday in Sydney [KO 11am Irish time, Sky Sports 1].

Eddie Jones’ men have already clinched the series with wins in the first two Tests but the head coach has made just a single change to his team – once-capped Harrison coming in for the injured James Haskell.

England v Wales - Old Mutual Wealth Cup - Twickenham Stadium Harrison will win his second cap for England. PA Wire / Press Association Images PA Wire / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

The likes of Alex Goode and Ben Te’o miss out on the opportunity to play on this tour as Jones ruthlessly goes after a series whitewash.

“You have to work extremely hard to earn an England cap so there was no temptation to make changes for the sake of change,” said Jones. “To play for England you have to be in the best 23 and that’s what this selection represents.

“We’ve treated this week like a dress rehearsal for the World Cup because that what we’re always building towards. To win a World Cup you have to win three big games in a row – we’ve won two so this third game is the most important game we’ll play all year. It will be a good indication of where we are as a team.

“We’re looking forward to playing in front of a full house at Allianz Stadium on Saturday and we are confident we can finish the job off with a win.”

Meanwhile, Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has responded to the disappointment of losing the series in Melbourne last weekend by making three changes to his XV.

Matt Toomua comes into the side in the 12 shirt, replacing Samu Kerevi and moving Australia back towards the model of two midfield playmakers that served them so well during last year’s World Cup.

Bernard Foley and Matt Toomua Toomua [right] will line up outside Bernard Foley. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Rob Simmons and the giant Will Skelton replace Rory Arnold and Sam Carter in the second row for the Wallabies, while the uncapped Western Force lock Adam Coleman is among nine replacements named by Cheika, with one to be left out on matchday.

Taqele Naiyaravoro, who recently left Glasgow Warriors, is also part of the group of replacements.


15. Israel Folau
14. Dane Haylett-Petty
13. Tevita Kuridrani
12. Matt Toomua
11. Rob Horne
10. Bernard Foley
9. Nick Phipps

1. James Slipper
2. Stephen Moore (captain)
3. Sekope Kepu
4. Will Skelton
5. Rob Simmons
6. Scott Fardy
7. Michael Hooper
8. Sean McMahon

Replacements (one to be omitted):

Tatafu Polota-Nau, Scott Sio, Greg Holmes, Adam Coleman, Dean Mumm, Wycliff Palu, Nick Frisby, Christian Lealiifano, Taqele Naiyaravoro.


15. Mike Brown
14. Anthony Watson
13. Jonathan Joseph
12. Owen Farrell
11. Jack Nowell
10. George Ford
9. Ben Youngs

1. Mako Vunipola
2. Dylan Hartley (captain)
3. Dan Cole
4. Maro Itoje
5. George Kruis
6. Chris Robshaw
7. Teimana Harrison
8. Billy Vunipola


16. Jamie George
17. Matt Mullan
18. Paul Hill
19. Joe Launchbury
20. Courtney Lawes
21. Jack Clifford
22. Danny Care
23. Elliot Daly

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Rugby Championship introduces a new bonus-point system for this year

‘You might have young players suddenly see an opportunity to become an Olympian’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.