Andrew Fosker/INPHO England's Owen Farrell.
# Changes
Arundell set for first start and Farrell returns as England name team to face Ireland
Arundell has replaced Max Malins on the left wing.

HENRY ARUNDELL WILL start for the first time when England attempt to gatecrash Ireland’s Grand Slam party at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday.

Arundell has replaced Max Malins on the left wing in the hope that the most exciting talent in English rugby can produce the magic needed to topple the world’s number one-ranked side.

The 20-year-old try-scoring sensation has won all six of his previous caps off the bench and will add X-factor to the backline.

Owen Farrell is restored at fly-half after being dropped for the 53-10 defeat by France last Saturday, with Marcus Smith demoted to the bench to accommodate the England captain.

Head coach Steve Borthwick has made one of two enforced changes at inside centre where Manu Tuilagi replaces hamstring-injury victim Ollie Lawrence.

Tuilagi makes his first appearance of the Guinness Six Nations having initially been frozen out by Borthwick and then receiving a three-match ban for dangerous play on club duty for Sale.

The powerful 31-year-old has made all six of his previous appearances against Ireland and forms a midfield trio alongside Farrell and Henry Slade that was last seen during the 2019 World Cup.

Breakout second row Ollie Chessum sustained an ankle injury in training on Tuesday so David Ribbans is drafted into the starting XV in the only adjustment to the pack mauled by France.

Apart from the promotion of Arundell and Farrell and the necessary changes at centre and lock, Borthwick has given the same XV that collapsed to the nation’s record Championship defeat a chance to redeem themselves.

Number eight Alex Dombrandt and scrum-half Jack van Poortvliet are particularly fortunate to retain their places after struggling noticeably against Les Bleus.

Replacement tighthead prop Dan Cole will win his 100th cap if he steps off the bench having made his debut 13 years earlier.

Back five forward Nick Isiekwe and versatile back Joe Marchant have been given replacement roles, but Malins has been jettisoned from the 23 altogether.


  • 15. Freddie Steward
  • 14. Anthony Watson
  • 13. Henry Slade
  • 12. Manu Tuilagi
  • 11. Henry Arundell
  • 10. Owen Farrell (Captain)
  • 9. Jack van Poortvliet
  • 1. Ellis Genge (Vice-Captain)
  • 2. Jamie George
  • 3. Kyle Sinckler
  • 4. Maro Itoje
  • 5. David Ribbans
  • 6. Lewis Ludlam (Vice-Captain)
  • 7. Jack Willis
  • 8. Alex Dombrandt


  • 16. Jack Walker
  • 17. Mako Vunipola
  • 18. Dan Cole
  • 19. Nick Isiekwe
  • 20. Ben Curry
  • 21. Alex Mitchell
  • 22. Marcus Smith
  • 23. Joe Marchant
Press Association
Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel