Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Thursday 6 May 2021

The 33 managers who will be in the race to land Sam Maguire in 2014

The inter-county Gaelic football managerial merry-go-round has been in full swing over the closed season.

THE 2014 GAA season dawns with several managers getting set for action in new positions.

33 men will be involved in the race to land the Sam Maguire Cup this year with 12 counties having new bosses in place for the upcoming campaign.

Here are the 33 managers to keep an eye on in 2014.

The 33 managers who will be in the race to land Sam Maguire in 2014
1 / 33
  • Liam Bradley (Antrim)

    The Derry native is back for a second stint in charge as he replaces Frank Dawson.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Paul Grimley (Armagh)

    Grimley is in charge for a second year and has notably added Kieran McGeeney to his backroom team for 2014.Source: INPHO/Morgan Treacy
  • Anthony Rainbow (Carlow)

    The former Lilywhites player is back for a second year with Carlow.Source: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan
  • Terry Hyland (Cavan)

    After a progressive year for the Breffni county, Hyland remains at the helm.Source: INPHO/Morgan Treacy
  • Colm Collins (Clare)

    The former county U21 boss, who managed Cratloe in last December's Munster final, takes over from Mick O'Dwyer.Source: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan
  • Brian Cuthbert (Cork)

    A senior selector last year, Cuthbert takes over from Conor Counihan who was in charge for six campaigns.Source: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
  • Brian McIver (Derry)

    McIver lead Derry to the Division 2 league title last spring and is in charge for a second season.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Jim McGuinness (Donegal)

    The 2012 All-Ireland winning manager has provided Donegal with a major boost as he is to stay on for this year.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • James McCartan (Down)

    There had been speculation over his future but it was confirmed in September that McCartan will stay on for a fifth year.Source: INPHO/Morgan Treacy
  • Jim Gavin (Dublin)

    After winning the All-Ireland, Gavin will be back to try to defend Dublin's crown in 2014.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Peter McGrath (Fermanagh)

    Down's former All-Ireland winning boss has taken over from Peter Canavan in the Erne County.Source: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
  • Alan Mulholland (Galway)

    The former All-Ireland U21 winning boss will take the reins for a third year in Galway.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Eamon Fitzmaurice (Kerry)

    The All-Ireland winning player took the managerial reins of his county in 2013 and stays in that position for this year.Source: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan
  • Jason Ryan (Kildare)

    Ex-Wexford boss Ryan moves from being assistant to manager in Kildare as he takes over from Kieran McGeeney.Source: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
  • Tomás O Flaharta (Laois)

    After spells with Westmeath and Galway, O Flatharta now takes over in Laois. He replaces Justin McNulty.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Sean Hagan (Leitrim)

    Hagan is the new man presiding over Leitrim's fortunes after the joint managerial partnership of George Dugdale and Barney Breen.Source: INPHO/Morgan Treacy
  • John Brudair (Limerick)

    With Maurice Horan having stepped down, it is former Dromcollogher-Broadford boss John Brudair who takes over.Source: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan
  • Paul Coggins (London)

    2013 was a great year for London football and last season's Connacht finalists will again be managed by Paul Coggins this year.Source: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
  • Jack Sheedy (Longford)

    Former Dublin player Jack Sheedy takes over from Glenn Ryan. Sheedy has previously managed club sides Edenderry and Moorefield.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Aidan O'Rourke (Louth)

    The ex-Armagh player will be leading the way for the Wee County for the second successive year in 2014.Source: INPHO/Donall Farmer
  • James Horan (Mayo)

    They've suffered disappointment in the last two All-Ireland finals but James Horan will return as Mayo boss for a fourth year.Source: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan
  • Mick O'Dowd (Meath)

    Skryne native Mick O'Dowd will take the reins in Meath for a second year.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Malachy O'Rourke (Monaghan)

    Monaghan's Ulster winning boss will be back to try to defend that crown after a hugely successful 2013 campaign.Source: INPHO/Donall Farmer
  • Emmet McDonnell (Offaly)

    For the second year, McDonnell will be at the helm in the Faithful county.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • John Evans (Roscommon)

    The former Tipperary manager was appointed as Roscommon boss for the 2013 season and will stay in that role for a second year.Source: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
  • Pat Flanagan (Sligo)

    Flanagan guided Westmeath last year but has now a new job after being ratified as Sligo's boss for this season.Source: INPHO/Ken Sutton
  • Peter Creedon (Tipperary)

    Having taken over during the 2012 campaign, Creedon will be at the helm for the Premier county's football fortunes again in 2014.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Mickey Harte (Tyrone)

    The long-serving Red Hands manager will continue to guide their fortunes for 2014.Source: INPHO/Presseye/Stephen Hamilton
  • Niall Carew (Waterford)

    Kildare native Carew stays on for a second year with fellow Lilywhite Ronan Sweeney a notable addition to the backroom team.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Paul Bealin (Westmeath)

    There's a new man in Westmeath with Bealin replacing Pat Flanagan. Bealin has previously managed Wexford and Carlow.Source: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan
  • Aidan O'Brien (Wexford)

    O'Brien had his debut inter-county senior managerial season in 2013 and stays on for this year.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Harry Murphy (Wicklow)

    It'll be a third year at the helm for Harry Murphy, with former Dublin player Johnny Magee added as a new selector.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Ian Galvin (New York)

    The Kerry native (right) has been appointed to take the role of the Gaelic Park based side.

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: