Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 0°C
Bryan Keane/INPHO Galway manager Micheál Donoghue.
# starting XV
All-Ireland hurling champions Galway name team for league opener
The Tribesmen entertain Antrim in the first round of Division 1B fixtures on Sunday.

GALWAY BEGIN their Allianz National Hurling League campaign against Antrim on Sunday (1pm).

Having claimed a first All-Ireland senior championship in 29 years back in September, the Tribesmen return to league action in the hope of earning promotion from Division 1B.

Ahead of this weekend’s opener at Pearse Stadium, manager Micheál Donoghue has named his team.

It features seven players — Adrian Tuohy, Dáithí Burke, Aidan Harte, Johnny Coen, Joseph Cooney, Niall Burke and Conor Cooney — who played in the All-Ireland final victory over Waterford.

Donoghue has also drafted eight newcomers into his squad – including seven who featured in the U21 squad last year — and one of them, Killimordaly forward Brian Concannon, gets the nod.


1. James Skehill (Cappataggle)

2. Ronan Burke (Turloughmore)
3. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)
4. Jack Grealish (Gort)

5. Adrian Tuohy (Beagh)
6. Martin Dolphin (Portumna)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

8. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
9. Eanna Burke (St Thomas’)

10. Niall Burke (Oranmore-Maree)
11. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
12. Paul Flaherty (Abbeyknockmoy)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

13. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly)
14. Conor Cooney (St Thomas’)
15. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkin’s)

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Years after his reality TV show setback, another FA Cup dream awaits Mullingar’s Connor Smith

‘Mkhitaryan had a problem with Mourinho’ – Armenia boss welcomes move

Related Tags


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel