Alan Dooley Twitter

Last year's All-Ireland U21 champions Mayo knocked out of Connacht by Galway

Eoin Finnerty scored a goal from the bench and sealed the win.

Galway 2-13

Mayo 1-10

By Daragh Small

SUPER SUB EOIN Finnerty made the game safe as Galway knocked reigning EirGrid All-Ireland U21 football champions Mayo out of the Connacht semi-final at Tuam Stadium.

The conditions were ideal and the province’s two most successful counties at this level served up an old-fashioned derby battle in front of a bumper crowd.

Mayo won the All-Ireland last year when they got the better of Cork after a stellar campaign in 2016, but Galway had too much after they led 0-10 to 1-5 at half-time.

Brian Reape goaled for Mayo, but two second-half strikes from Dessie Conneely and Finnerty helped Galway through, and they go on to face Sligo in the decider next Saturday.

Mayo have won 24 U-21 Connacht titles, and beat Roscommon in last year’s decider, but they were slow to get going.

Peter Cooke and Brian Reape swapped points early on but Galway went 0-5 to 0-1 up when Cillian McDaid scored in the 12th minute.

When Paul Mannion hit his third point nine minutes before half-time Galway were six clear, but Mayo got the goal when they needed it.

James Carr and Ryan O’Donoghue combined for Brian Reape to rattle the net and bring them back into contention.

Mayo only trailed 0-10 to 1-5 at half-time but Conneely scored the crucial goal in the 36th minute.

Eoin Finnerty with Kieran Fitzgerald Eoin Finnerty in action for his club Mountbellow-Moylough against Corofin. Mike Shaughnessy / INPHO Mike Shaughnessy / INPHO / INPHO

Eoin Finnerty sealed the win one minute after his introduction and James Kelly got sent-off for a straight red when he collided with Dylan McHugh.

Scorers for Galway: P Mannion 0-4, D Conneely 1-0, E Finnerty 1-0, P Cooke 0-3 (0-2f, 0-1 45), R Finnerty 0-2 (0-1f), M Daly 0-2, C McDaid 0-1, C Brady 0-1.

Scorers for Mayo: B Reape 1-6 (0-5f), M Flanagan 0-1 (0-1 45), M Murray 0-1, J Lyons 0-1, M Ruane 0-1.


1. Ronan O Beolain (Micheal Breathnach)

2. Liam Kelly (An Spideal)
3. Sean Andy O Ceallaigh (Leitir Mor)
4. Rory Greene (Killannin)

5. Kieran Molloy (Corofin)
6. Dylan McHugh (Corofin)
7. Cillian McDaid (Monivea-Abbey)

8. Peter Cooke (Moycullen)
11. Michael Daly (Mountbellew-Moylough)

10. Antaine O Laoi (An Spideal)
9. Colm Brennan (Oileain Arainn)
12. Colin Brady (Corofin)

13. Robert Finnerty (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
14. Paul Mannion (Kilconly)
15. Dessie Conneely (Moycullen)

18. Sean Kelly (Moycullen) for McDaid (40)
21. Eoin Finnerty (Mountbellew-Moylough) for Brady (48)
20. Cein D’Arcy (Caherlistrane) for C Brennan (52)
23. Eric Lee (Oughterard) for McHugh (32)
24. Colm Mannion (Mountbellew-Moylough) for O Laoi (36).
22. Michael Boyle (Killererin) for Conneely (37).


1. Matthew Flanagan (Balla)

5. Marcus Park (Knockmore)
4. Sean Conlon (Castlebar Mitchels)
2. Stephen Brennan (Claremorris)

7. Shairoze Akram (Ballaghaderreen)
3. Eoin O’Donoghue (Bellmullet)
6. Dylan Cannon (Breaffy)

8. Matthew Ruane (Breaffy)
9. Mike Murray (Ballina Stephenites)

21. Fionn McDonagh (Westport)
20. Ryan O’Donoghue (Belmullet)
12. James Kelly (Belmullet)

15. James Carr (Ardagh)
14. Brian Reape (Moy Davitts)
13. James Lyons (Aughamore)

10. James McCormack (Claremorris) for McDonagh (48)
17. Jason Forkan (Kiltimagh) for E O’Donoghue (50)
22. TJ Byrne (Kiltimagh) for R O’Donoghue (55)
11. Gerry Canavan (Mayo Gaels) for Cannon (58)
23. Jordan Flynn (Crossmolina) for Murray (36).

Referee: John Gilmartin (Sligo)
The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

LIVE: Dublin v Roscommon, Allianz Division 1 Football League

Our Lady’s Templemore come from behind to win first All-Ireland since 1978

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.