This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Sunday 23 February, 2020

O’Neill and Harte back from injury to start for Tyrone against Donegal

Manager Mickey Harte has also named two championship debutants.

Tyrone attacker Stephen O'Neill.
Tyrone attacker Stephen O'Neill.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie.

TYRONE BOSS MICKEY Harte has handed out two championship debuts for Sunday’s Ulster quarter-final against Donegal in Ballybofey.

Goalkeeper Niall Morgan and corner-forward Conor McAliskey – who both impressed throughout the league – get the nod to start.

Peter Harte and Stephen O’Neill both return from injury having missed last month’s league final loss to Dublin through hamstring and ankle injuries respectively.

The two players to make way on this occasion are defender Dermot Carlin and attacker Patrick McNeice.

TYRONE: Niall Morgan (Edendork); PJ Quinn (Moortown), Conor Clarke (Omagh), Cathal McCarron (Dromore); Justin McMahon (Omagh), Joe McMahon (Omagh), Conor Gormley (Carrickmore); Colm Cavanagh (Moy), Sean Cavanagh (Moy); Mark Donnelly (Carrickmore), Peter Harte (Errigal Ciaran), Matthew Donnelly (Trillick); Martin Penrose (Carrickmore), Stephen O’Neill (Clann na Gael), Conor McAliskey (Clonoe).

The Tyrone subs have also been named for Sunday’s tie.

Subs: Pascal McConnell (Newtownstewart), Dermot Carlin (Killyclogher), Aidan Cassidy (Augher), Kyle Coney (Ardboe), Kevin Gallagher (Newtownstewart), Jonathan Lafferty (Urney), Plunkett Kane (Coalisland), Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciaran), Darren McCurry (Edendork), Patrick McNeice (Coalisland), Sean Warnock (Greencastle).

Longford boss Glenn Ryan has named two U21 players in his starting fifteen for Sunday’s trip to Aughrim to face Wicklow in their Leinster opener.

Padraig McCormack and Robbie Smyth are set to start in attack in left wing-forward and right corner-forward respectively.

Both McCormack and Smyth hav ebeen rewarded for the form they displayed for the county U21 side that reached the Leinster final this year against Kildare in April.

Their U21 colleagues Paddy Collum and Barry O’Farrell have both been named on the bench.

Longford’s side includes experienced campaigners like goalkeeper Damien Sheridan,  full-back Barry Gilleran and centre-forward Paul Barden.

While county champions Emmet Óg Killoe are represented by defensive lynchpin Michael Quinn and ace attacker Sean McCormack.

LONGFORD: Damien Sheridan; Dermot Brady, Barry Gilleran, Declan Reilly; Colm P Smyth, Michael Quinn, Shane Mulligan; John Keegan, Michael Brady; Bernard McElvaney, Paul Barden, Padraig McCormack; Robbie Smyth, Francis McGee, Sean McCormack.
Subs: Paddy Collum, Fergal Battrim, Kevin Diffley, Barry O’Farrell, Donal McElligott, Aidan Rowan, JJ Matthews, Shane Doyle, John Paul Reilly, Niall Mulligan, Paul Kelly.

Laois and Louth name teams for Leinster Championship encounter

The Dubs will wear this jersey with a suicide awareness logo at Croker

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel