Cavan celebrate winning the Ulster U21 title. INPHO/Presseye/Jonathan Porter
winning ways

Here's how Cavan, Cork, Galway & Kildare reached the All-Ireland U21FC semi-finals

The last four clashes take place this Saturday in O’Connor Park in Tullamore.


For the third successive year Cavan emerged victorious at U21 level in Ulster.

They claimed an extra-time victory over Monaghan by 1-16 to 1-12 in their quarter-final tie in Kingspan Breffni Park. Then they travelled to the Athletic Grounds and were 1-12 to 0-6 winners over Down at the semi-final stage.

And finally they claimed a 0-13 to 1-6 final win over Donegal in Brewster Park in Enniskillen.

Scorers for Cavan: Jack Brady 0-4 (0-4f), Chris Conroy 0-3, Enda O’Reilly (0-1f), Gerry Smith 0-2 each, Paul O’Connor, Paul Graham 0-1 each.

CAVAN: Conor Gilsenan (Bailieborough); Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels), Killian Clarke (Shercock), Ciaran Brady (Arva); Daragh McVeety (Crosserlough), Daragh Sexton (Cavan Gaels), Feargal Flanagan (Butlersbridge); Brian Sankey (Shercock), Michael Argue (Bailieborough); Gerry Smith (Lavey), Chris Conroy (Lavey), Turloc Mooney (Redhills); Enda O’Reilly (Mullahoran), Paul O’Connor (Cavan Gaels), Jack Brady (Ramor Utd).

Subs: Chris Madden for Conroy, Paul Graham for Mooney.

YouTube: KilkennyFootball


Cork celebrate their Munster U21 title win.
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

The Rebels opened their campaign with a 0-14 to 2-7 Munster quarter-final victory over Kerry with Ballincollig’s Sean Kiely striking over the winning point. Goals from Brian Hurley and John O’Rourke propelled Cork to a 2-14 to 0-11 semi-final success against Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds.

Then they collected the county’s third successive Munster U21 crown with a 1-17 to 0-9 final success against Tipperary.

Scorers for Cork: Mark Sugrue 1-1, Alan Cadogan, Luke Connolly, Dan McEoin (0-1f), Brian Hurley (0-2f) 0-3 each, Tom Clancy, Jamie Wall, Kevin Hallissey, Tom Hegarty 0-1 each.

CORK: David Hanrahan (Douglas); Conor Dorman (Bishopstown), Damien Cahalane (Castlehaven), Alan Cronin (Nemo Rangers); TJ Brosnan (Newmarket), Tom Clancy (Clonakilty), Jamie Wall (Kilbrittain); Sean Kiely (Ballincollig), Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s); Alan Cadogan (Douglas), Mark Sugrue (Bandon), John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers); Dan McEoin (Ilen Rovers), Brian Hurley (Castlehaven), Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers).

Subs: Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) for Brosnan (39), Kevin Hallissey (Éire Óg) for Sugrue (56), Kevin Crowley (Millstreet) for Wall (59), Thomas Hegarty (O’Donovan Rossa) for Mac Eoin (60), Jamie Burns (St Finbarr’s) for Kiely (62).

YouTube: KilkennyFootball


Galway regained a Connacht crown that the county last won at this level in 2011. They were 1-20 to 0-7 victors over Sligo in the opening round and then defeated Mayo by 0-9 to 0-7 at the semi-final stage.

It took extra-time before Galway defeated Roscommon in the final by 1-17 to 2-11 in Dr Hyde Park.

Scorers for Galway: Shane Walsh 0-7 (5fs), Ian Burke 0-6, Cathal Mulryan 1-0, Shane Maughan 0-1, Gary Kelly 0-1, Paul Varley 0-1, Sean Moran 0-1.

GALWAY: Thomas Healy (Corofin); Liam Silke (Corofin), James Shaughnessy (Ballinasloe), Eoin Walsh (Moycullen); Mark Loughnane (St Gabriels), Gearoid Canavan (Salthill-Knocknacarra), Paul Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks); Fiontan O’Curraoin (Micheal Breathnach), Damien Comer (Annaghdown); Cathal Mulryan (Cortoon Shamrocks), Sean Moran (Claregalway), Shane Maughan (St Michael’s); Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin-Clonberne), Adrian Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks), Ian Burke (Corofin).

Subs: Tom Flynn (Athenry) for Silke (28 mins), Conor Rabbitte (Kilkerrin-Clonberne) for Maughan (44 mins), Padraig Cunningham (Ballinasloe) for Moran (45 mins), Philip Ezergailis (Moycullen) for Canavan (49 mins), Gary Kelly (Williamstown) for Comer (59 mins), Damien Comer (Annaghdown) for Mulryan (75 mins), S Maughan (St Michael’s) for A Varley (76 mins), Mattie Heskin (Salthill-Knocknacarra) for Cunningham (78 mins).

David Cunnane was introduced as Galway’s 15th man for extra-time

YouTube: KilkennyFootball


Kildare celebrate their Leinster U21 title win.
Pic: INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan

Kildare overcame Meath by 2-15 to 1-9 in their quarter-final clash in Leinster with Padraig Fogarty and Niall Kelly raising their green flags. At the semi-final stage they were 3-22 to 0-7 victors over Laois with Fergal Conway, Hugh Mahon and Daniel Flynn striking home their goals.

And it was Paddy Brophy who despatched a penalty to the net in their Leinster final success over Longford by 1-12 to 0-12.

Scorers for Kildare: Paddy Brophy 1-2 (1-0 pen), Niall Kelly 0-3, Sean Hurley (0-1 ’45), Fionn Dowling, Padraig Fogarty 0-2 each, Thomas Moolick 0-1.

KILDARE: Mark Donnellan (Maynooth); Michael Konstantin (Celbridge), David Hyland (Athy), Seán Higgins (Maynooth); Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge), Fergal Conway (Celbridge), Jonathan Byrne (Allenwood); Tommy Moolick (Leixlip), Sean Hurley (Johnstownbridge); Liam McGovern (Athy), Niall Kelly (Athy), Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge); Paddy Brophy (Celbridge), Fionn Dowling (Suncroft), Pádraig Fogarty (St. Laurence’s).

Subs: Hugh Mahon (Athy) for Dowling (47), Tony Gibbons (Athy) for McGovern (61).

YouTube: KilkennyFootball

Michael Fennelly on life without Kilkenny’s stars on the pitch and the sideline

So which IT Carlow students are going to have the All-Ireland U21 bragging rights?