Advertisement
Caelan Doris is Ireland's new captain. Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Doris named Ireland captain with two uncapped players in 35-man squad

Cormac Izuchukwu and Sam Prendergast will hope to make their debuts next month.

IRELAND HEAD COACH Andy Farrell has announced Caelan Doris as his new captain and named two uncapped players in his 35-man squad for the upcoming November Tests.

26-year-old Doris will take over from Peter Oโ€™Mahony as Ireland skipper ahead of the games against New Zealand, Argentina, Fiji, and Australia in Dublin next month.

Doris took on the captaincy for Irelandโ€™s second Test win over South Africa last summer when Oโ€™Mahony was dropped to the bench.

The Munster man is currently injured but Oโ€™Mahony has been included in the autumn squad as he continues to recover from a hamstring issue, with the experienced blindside flanker to rehabilitate with Munster ahead of his return to action next month.

Ireland have included experienced hookers Rรณnan Kelleher and Rob Herring in their autumn squad despite both currently being sidelined with injuries. It remains unclear exactly when they will recover but they will feature at some stage in November, with Connachtโ€™s Dave Heffernan the other hooker selected in the injury-enforced absence of Dan Sheehan.

Farrellโ€™s squad includes Ulster lock/flanker Cormac Izuchukwu and Leinster out-half Sam Prendergast, both of whom will hope to win their first senior Test caps for Ireland. 

24-year-old Izuchukwu and 21-year-old Prendergast were part of Irelandโ€™s tour of South Africa last summer but werenโ€™t capped, while both were involved in the recent Emerging Ireland trip back to South Africa.

Farrell has named five additional โ€˜training panellistsโ€™ as he looks to kick their development on, with Connacht wing Shayne Bolton, Munster flanker Alex Kendellen, Leinster tighthead prop Thomas Clarkson, Leinster loosehead prop Jack Boyle, and Leinster academy hooker Gus McCarthy all involved.

Overall, Farrellโ€™s squad has a settled, familiar look to it, with plenty of continuity from last summerโ€™s tour to South Africa.

Back row Jack Conan, who was absent in July for personal reasons, misses out again through injury but Leinster out-half Ciarรกn Frawley has been included after an injury scare last weekend against Connacht, while Farrell has opted to choose only five props in his main squad.

Ulster lock Iain Henderson returns after missing the trip to South Africa, while first-choice scrum-half Jamison Gibson-Park and right wing Mack Hansen are also back having been ruled out of that tour with injuries. Fullback Hugo Keenan, who was absent due to Ireland 7s duty last time, is another familiar returning face.

Jordan Larmour, Caolin Blade, Jimmy Oโ€™Brien, and Oli Jager โ€“ who all went to South Africa โ€“ are absent from this squad, with Jager and Oโ€™Brien currently injured.

Ireland will gather at the IRFUโ€™s high performance centre in Dublin on Monday before flying out to Portugal for a training camp ahead of their first November Test against New Zealand on Friday 8 November.

They face Argentina the following Friday, welcome Fiji to the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 23 November and conclude the campaign against Australia on Saturday 30 November for what will be the IRFUโ€™s 150th anniversary Test.

Ireland squad for 2024 November Tests:

Props: Andrew Porter, Cian Healy, Tom Oโ€™Toole, Tadhg Furlong, Finlay Bealham

Hookers: Rรณnan Kelleher, Rob Herring, Dave Heffernan

Locks: Joe McCarthy, Tadhg Beirne, James Ryan, Iain Henderson

Back rows: Caelan Doris (captain), Josh van der Flier, Peter Oโ€™Mahony, Cormac Izuchukwu, Ryan Baird, Nick Timoney, Cian Prendergast

Halfbacks: Jamison Gibson-Park, Craig Casey, Conor Murray, Jack Crowley, Ciarรกn Frawley, Sam Prendergast

Centres: Bundee Aki, Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw, Stuart McCloskey

Back threes: Mack Hansen, James Lowe, Jamie Osborne, Hugo Keenan, Calvin Nash, Jacob Stockdale

Training panellists: Thomas Clarkson, Alex Kendellen, Shayne Bolton, Jack Boyle, Gus McCarthy.

Close
126 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute eltonioh
    Favourite eltonioh
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:38 PM

Healy and Oโ€™Mahony have been incredible players for Ireland but thereโ€™s nothing to be gained from picking them at this stage.

Mute Stuart Z Quinn
    Favourite Stuart Z Quinn
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:09 PM

@eltonioh: Or Conor Murray

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:24 PM

@Stuart Z Quinn: Murray is still the best back up to JGP โ€“ I also think he is a bolter for the Lions tour โ€“ AF likes him off the bench to close down a game

See 10 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Dave McAuliffe
    Favourite Dave McAuliffe
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:28 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: would be interesting if he started and finished his career as a Lions bolter

Mute Graham Ahern
    Favourite Graham Ahern
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:31 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: Murray still class. Not starting him in Urc v glasgow was imo one of the reasons munster lost the semi final

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:14 PM

@Graham Ahern: The tweak in the laws to make blocking access to the box kick receiver a penalty offence has given him a new lease of life.

Mute Carmine Lorenzo
    Favourite Carmine Lorenzo
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:15 PM

@eltonioh: I see your point but Murray was brilliant in the summer tbf. Really rolled back the years.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:28 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: Murray still has a huge role to play for Ireland but I donโ€™t think he will be in the conversation for the B&I Lions

Mute mark sheehan
    Favourite mark sheehan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:43 PM

@Paul Ennis: dunno about that, you look at the rest of the home nations scrum halves and Murray is as good as if not better than them.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 23rd 2024, 9:35 PM

@mark sheehan: I donโ€™t think there will be too many players picked who are not regular starters for their country, never mind their club. I get the role of finishers in modern rugby but you need a scrum half to start for your mid week team. JGP, Alex Mitchell, Jack Van Poortvliet & Ben White will all be considered ahead of Murray right now and White has the advantage of playing inside the likely starting test 10. Even Casey is starting for Munster ahead of Murray and might tour as a mid week starter. If he goes for a big squad, maybe 4 travel. I donโ€™t see Murray being one of them unless there are a few injuries.

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Oct 23rd 2024, 11:31 PM

@Paul Ennis: I think JGP, Mitchell and Murray is who AF would go for if he had to pick tomorrow

Mute Brenda Collins
    Favourite Brenda Collins
    Oct 24th 2024, 12:29 AM

@eltonioh: same with Iain Henderson. Why wouldnโ€™t they have included Ahern, who has been so valuable for Munster over the last two years? Henderson is 32 and constantly injured. That combo makes his selection bizarre to me. POM doesnโ€™t need to be in that squad imo. Nor Healy.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:12 AM

@Brenda Collins: You might be right although you could add Murray and Aki to that category if 32 is your cut off. Probably be the last squad that Healy & POM will be involved in with Andy, so I totally understand why he has picked them โ€“ I would too. Plus who would you bring in ahead of Henderson? Healy probably gets 3 more caps as the options at LH are so sparseโ€ฆ plus we probably have 1 barely fit hooker in all 4 squads and Healy can offer additional cover. Even though backrow is so competitive, POM will add value to the wider squad whether he plays or not.

Mute 5sZl1dX2
    Favourite 5sZl1dX2
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:25 PM

If there was ever an example of a player getting a call up based solely on the colour of the jersey he wears, itโ€™s Thomas Clarkson. Jesus wept. Leo brought in a prop that had planned on retiring rather than see Clarkson back up Furlong. How hasnโ€™t Scott Wilson being called up!l? The mind boggles

Mute Gary Galligan
    Favourite Gary Galligan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:29 PM

@5sZl1dX2: ye Wilson class

Mute Carmine Lorenzo
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:40 PM

@Gary Galligan: Ulster are so light at TH and there is a game at the end in the league that overlaps so perhaps they felt it better to leave him in situ. Heโ€™ll be capped at some point in the future anyway. Great prospect.

See 18 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Petter Sellberg
    Favourite Petter Sellberg
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:43 PM

@5sZl1dX2: I think you calling Farrell out for provincial bias is a bit rich

Mute 5sZl1dX2
    Favourite 5sZl1dX2
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:45 PM

@Petter Sellberg: Iโ€™m not going to seek clarity on a comment from someone who canโ€™t spell their own name

Mute Petter Sellberg
    Favourite Petter Sellberg
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:55 PM

@5sZl1dX2: classy

Mute Justin Robinson
    Favourite Justin Robinson
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:58 PM

@Carmine Lorenzo: Shame they werenโ€™t so thoughtful for URC rounds 2-4.

Mute Ross Watson
    Favourite Ross Watson
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:58 PM

@Justin Robinson: Iโ€™m not so sure the Irish coaches rate Wilson as highly as most do. Why bring him on EI tour and restrict him to 1 sub appearance at tighthead and 1 at loosehead. Baffled me to be honest when he could have been scrummaging against top class opposition. Then to be snubbed here just adds to that feeling that maybe they donโ€™t see it

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:30 PM

@5sZl1dX2: youโ€™re right Barry Harry, clearly the Irish management team have no clue what theyโ€™re doing and the sooner they draft you in the better. The future of Irish rugby depends on your infinite wisdom

Mute Kingshu
    Favourite Kingshu
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:40 PM

@Ross Watson: Yeah that makes a lot of sense. EI tour was a bit of a waste for him, when needed more by Ulster. Maybe they do think he needs more time.

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:03 PM

@5sZl1dX2: Aungier clearly ahead of him

Mute 5sZl1dX2
    Favourite 5sZl1dX2
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:24 PM

@anthony davoren: whatโ€™s with people not been able to spell their own names here?

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:38 PM

@5sZl1dX2: agreed but i think he is seen as a 2027 candidate. probably the only TH we have that could be a 125 to 130kg prop that comes off the bench to nail our scrums

Mute Sambo
    Favourite Sambo
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:55 PM

@5sZl1dX2: itโ€™s โ€˜beingโ€™.

Mute anthony davoren
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:41 PM

@5sZl1dX2: alright Baz :D

Mute Ross Watson
    Favourite Ross Watson
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:58 PM

@Dave Moran: wouldnโ€™t disagree there although is Aungier ahead of OToole as theyโ€™re a similar age. If OToole doesnโ€™t make an impression in this squad i think itโ€™s time to see Aungier.

Mute Mark Russell
    Favourite Mark Russell
    Oct 23rd 2024, 8:13 PM

@5sZl1dX2: I agree that Clarkson is very fortunate. Not for provincial bias as you state. Jack Aungier would have been the one. Heโ€™s already a regular in Connacht.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 23rd 2024, 9:48 PM

@Ross Watson: There are only 2 players from the EI tour in this squad. Hardly call it a snub!

Mute Ross Watson
    Favourite Ross Watson
    Oct 23rd 2024, 10:28 PM

@Paul Ennis: snub. Omission. Call it whatever you want. Im not worried by him remaining with Ulster, as he should have been allowed to do earlier in the season. Heโ€™s plenty of time to make it international squads. My point was only that I donโ€™t think the coaches rate him as highly as some fans do which is fine for a 21 year old

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 24th 2024, 6:17 AM

@Ross Watson: Thatโ€™s fair. The fans on this forum usually donโ€™t take an objective view when players from their province are excluded.

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Oct 24th 2024, 4:31 PM

@5sZl1dX2: because the Irish coaches had a good look at Wilson on the EI tour and donโ€™t deem him ready yet. That was very clear from the minutes he got while down there. Of course itโ€™s the color of the jersey that matters though. To you, not the Irish coaches.

Mute Les Whinin
    Favourite Les Whinin
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:22 PM

By what about the player from my province?

Mute Comeonyouknow
    Favourite Comeonyouknow
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:23 PM

@Les Whinin: youโ€™re gasโ€ฆ

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Favourite Patrick Kennedy
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:32 PM

@Les Whinin: ha โ€ฆ yeah that guy who looked good in that league game against that italian team who rested 15 players and then had a food poisoning outbreakโ€ฆ

See 1 more reply โ–พ
    Mute Mark Russell
    Favourite Mark Russell
    Oct 23rd 2024, 8:14 PM

@Les Whinin: What about the 13 year old who looks great, gotta plan for the 2172 World Cup.

Mute Aidan Farrell
    Favourite Aidan Farrell
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:25 PM

Typical Ireland, three years out from a World Cup and very little experimentation. Same faces still getting picked on reputation, and who wonโ€™t be around in 2027. This short term thinking is why we fail at every single World Cup. Glad to see Doris in as skipper, with Oโ€™Mahony removed of the captaincy.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:28 PM

@Aidan Farrell: had the exact same thought when I saw the squad. zero experimentation, or building for the future.

Mute Gary Galligan
    Favourite Gary Galligan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:29 PM

@Aidan Farrell: like whoo

See 23 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Ross Watson
    Favourite Ross Watson
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:35 PM

@Niall English: I wouldnโ€™t say zero for the future but the sheer amount of injured old heads in the squad is a worry. PoM, Hendo, Herring (albeit he may be needed due to injury). Might be an unpopular call but I donโ€™t rate Prendergast over McCann or Kendellan or even Ahern. Also although I really like Timoney he isnโ€™t threatening the 23 and heโ€™s 30 odd.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:36 PM

@Gary Galligan: highly likely that bealham, hendeeson, pom, Murray, aki, henshaw, mccloskey and lowe wonโ€™t be around next world cup.

Mute Andrew Slazenger
    Favourite Andrew Slazenger
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:42 PM

@Ross Watson: Bang on, although VDF is the only proper 7 in the squad so POM and Timoney needed as cover

Mute J M
    Favourite J M
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:47 PM

@Aidan Farrell: Strongly disagree, plenty of newish faces in there. We have another 3 years to fill out the squad and Farrell has consistently added new players to build out the squad so far.

Thereโ€™ll be a fair number of new people getting a shot when most of the Irish team is away on the Lions too, plus whatever EI tour goes on next year.

We still want to win these games, OZ 27 is yonks away.

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:07 PM

@Aidan Farrell: Iโ€™ve a feeling the training panelists could well see game time โ€“ canโ€™t see our front row last the full 5 weeks without injuries

Mute Patrick O'Sullivan
    Favourite Patrick O'Sullivan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:13 PM

@Ross Watson: ahern is only just back from injury. I donโ€™t think prendergast is at the level of others that are available, especially mccann, deegan is another who can count himself very unfortunate.

Mute Kingshu
    Favourite Kingshu
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:15 PM

@Aidan Farrell: why do you think Ireland would be so focused on the ยฃ4.8m for winning the WC and not the ยฃ24m available in the 6 nations over those 4 years?

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:31 PM

@Patrick Oโ€™Sullivan: Dave McCann seems to have made 8 his position. There is enough cover for Doris in Conan, POM, Timoney & Prendergast who can all cover. Prendergast is well deserving of his place in the squad. He is now an experienced provincial captain. The step up to international is significant and previous appearances carry weight. Training Panel is the right way to go.

Mute Rab McCracken
    Favourite Rab McCracken
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:47 PM

@Paul Ennis: McCann is Ulsterโ€™s first choice 7 and has started all three back row positions this season. He definitely has not decided to make 8 his position.

Mute Aaron Tynan
    Favourite Aaron Tynan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:09 PM

@Aidan Farrell: the truth of it is and something squidgerugby highlighted about Ireland, is that the IRFU Pursue 6 nation titles as this is where the majority of revenue comes from. They will never do a SA or All Black on it and drop lots of players to experiment start of cycle. For this reason Farells hands are tied.

Mute Aidan Farrell
    Favourite Aidan Farrell
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:24 PM

@Kingshu: Iโ€™d prefer to finish bottom of the 6 Nations for four years straight and win a World Cup quarter final than bank the money.

Mute Ross Watson
    Favourite Ross Watson
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:51 PM

@Paul Ennis: Iโ€™d encourage anyone to compare Prendergasts stats to the others. They donโ€™t back up that heโ€™s well deserving over the likes of Deegan or McCann. Heโ€™s a decent player and no more for me. Another issue I have is that the likes of Prendergast (and timoney and Oโ€™Toole in fairness) have been on a lot of squads and never really threatened to break into the team. Unless they do it this time wouldnโ€™t it be better to have a look at others. And I say that as someone who really rates Nick Timoney.

Mute Kevin Ryan
    Favourite Kevin Ryan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:58 PM

@Aidan Farrell: Let me suggest 1). If Ireland finished bottom in even 1 Six Nations you and every other Irish fan would quickly lose confidence that the team were going to succeed in the World Cup; either the plan would change or the coach would go; and 2) Given the money from the 6N provides a subsidy to the rest of Irish rugby, the consequential cuts to Provincial budgets would also cause howls of outrage

Mute Ross Watson
    Favourite Ross Watson
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:01 PM

@Kevin Ryan: we donโ€™t experiment during the 6nations and that makes perfect sense to me. But we didnโ€™t experiment in the summer either which makes this winter the perfect time to look at some other guys.

Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:53 PM

@Aidan Farrell: if that happens, who is going to pay Leinsterโ€™s wages?

Mute Niall Burke
    Favourite Niall Burke
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:20 PM

@Aidan Farrell: evolution, not revolution

Mute Patrick O'Sullivan
    Favourite Patrick O'Sullivan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 9:49 PM

@Paul Ennis: I would disagree on 8 being his main position. Over this year and last heโ€™s played more 7 then 8 with 6 as his least likely starting position. Why bother bringing prendergast when pom, baird, Doris, beirne and izzy cover 6. Timoney covers 8 and 7, bringing McCann 7,8 and 6 cover as well as looking like he has what it take to play at top level rugby.
    Your entitled to your opinion as am I on prendergast

Mute Kevin Ryan
    Favourite Kevin Ryan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 10:01 PM

@Ross Watson: No. As others have said the perfect time is next summerโ€™s tour when our top guys are with the Lions

Mute Mary Corrigan
    Favourite Mary Corrigan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 10:21 PM

@Gary Galligan: Matthew Devine ahead of Murray.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 23rd 2024, 10:23 PM

@Patrick Oโ€™Sullivan: Donโ€™t get me wrongโ€ฆ I really like Dave McCann. But Prendergast had done nothing to deserve being dropped. Back row is such a competitive area. As pointed out by many, I am wrong about 8 being his position. But he still needs to oust one of the incumbantsโ€ฆ just like Coombes, Hodnett, Ahern, Deegan, Connors & Penny. If he is patient and keeps working hard his time will come. Alternatively, he could take Kingshuโ€™s advice and look for a move to Leinster!!

Mute Brenda Collins
    Favourite Brenda Collins
    Oct 24th 2024, 12:34 AM

@Aidan Farrell: for once we agree. I couldnt understand the conservative selection for the SA tour. I canโ€™t understand the conservative selection for these autumn games either. I am mystified. POM, Henderson, Healy, Murray do not need to be in this squad.

Mute Brenda Collins
    Favourite Brenda Collins
    Oct 24th 2024, 12:36 AM

@Ross Watson: โ€œeven ahernโ€? Ahern is the best of them imo. A giant of a man and lethal in open play. I like Kendellan but he doesnโ€™t even start for Munster when all their players are available so tbh I was a bit surprised by his inclusion.

Mute anthony davoren
    Oct 24th 2024, 9:47 AM

@Aaron Tynan: I donโ€™t believe for a second Farrell hasnโ€™t full control over squad selection. The fact is the six nations is an extremely prestigious tournament steeped in history. Weโ€™ve been spoilt in years because of our success but there was a long long period where Ireland were more accustomed to wooden spoons than titles. The world cup is a relatively new tournament in comparison. The gas thing is if Farrell experiments in six nations and we do crap people will be looking for him to be sacked before the world cup. I think we can just accept that Farrell and his backroom team are better placed than us commenters to select the correct squad

Mute Gary Galligan
    Favourite Gary Galligan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:23 PM

Perfect squad. Only glitch. Maybe ahern instead of Henderson??

Mute teuO6nLS
    Favourite teuO6nLS
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:13 PM

@Gary Galligan: need another lock who can run a lineout besides just Ryan. If nothing else but for training.

We all know Beirne canโ€™t, even Munster fans have to acknowledge that after 2 years of him trying to

Mute Andrew Slazenger

Presume this means Herring will be fit for the ABs?! All the noises were no way RK would make it back but maybe.. Ahern prob over Prendergast, maybe Deegan over Timoney but we do need cover for 7. Would have had Ben Murphy on training panel too

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:05 PM

Youโ€™d hope this is the last stop for a good number of those picked. Taking up seats on the bus at this point. We were forced into playing Osbourne at 15 at the highest level when Keenan left, and he flourished. I think the young lads are far more capable than the selectors think/allow.

Mute 5sZl1dX2
    Favourite 5sZl1dX2
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:10 PM

@Conor: it wonโ€™t be. Autumn is the chance to blood new players. The Six Nations is worth so much financially, there wonโ€™t be any risks taken with selection

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor

@5sZl1dX2: sad but true. And we know where itโ€™ll leave us in 2027

See 1 more reply โ–พ
    Mute Conor Quinn
    Favourite Conor Quinn
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:41 PM

@5sZl1dX2: I think weโ€™ll still need Healy, Murray and Oโ€™Mahony from a leadership perspective at the next six nations, and you keep them in now for continuity. After that 6 nations thereโ€™s a natural break with the Lions/development tour, when those lads will be phased out.

Mute Carmine Lorenzo
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:38 PM

This isnโ€™t a 6N so feels like a big opportunity missed to actually experiment a bit more. Farrell and Ireland continue to be the most conservative selectors in world rugby. I get it if this was for the 6N but picking Oโ€™Mahony who is injured and not taking a look at Ahern is a bit of a miss imo. Ben Murphy the form 9 out there too. And itโ€™s absolutely criminal that Max Deegan hasnโ€™t been awarded for his form.

Mute 5sZl1dX2
    Favourite 5sZl1dX2

@Carmine Lorenzo: Farrell doesnโ€™t pick on form, we know that already. If he did, half that squad wouldnโ€™t be picked

Mute Conor Quinn
    Favourite Conor Quinn
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:47 PM

@Carmine Lorenzo: No point having Ahern, Baird and Izuchukwu โ€“ theyโ€™re all the same type of player so adding a third just takes minutes and training reps away from the other two. Oโ€™Mahony offers something completely different, most notably on leadership, so he justifiably gets the nod over Ahern IMO. Ahern is also just coming back from a big injury and has no form to speak of.

Ben Murphy is in good form but weโ€™re talking about 4 URC games. You canโ€™t go handing international caps out that lightly.

Agree RE Deegan.

See 3 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Carmine Lorenzo
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:24 PM

@Conor Quinn: But to your point Ahern is actually fit and Oโ€™Mahony isnโ€™t even! And he defo has no form to speak of, was dropped for the South African second test. This isnโ€™t a cut at him as I know his leadership is a big factor. However at this rate, surely others have started stepping up to fill that void. In that squad you have Doris, Henderson, Prendergast and Beirneโ€ฆall provincial captains! Then you have amazing leaders like Ryan, Ringrose, Murray etcโ€ฆ

Mute Conor Quinn
    Favourite Conor Quinn
    Oct 23rd 2024, 9:00 PM

@Carmine Lorenzo: Yeah fair point RE other leaders, but the back row is pretty youthful โ€“ with Conan out, VdF is the only other guy over 26. I can see why they still want him in this squad, assuming his injury is short term.

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Oct 25th 2024, 10:47 AM

@Carmine Lorenzo: You are talking about form over the space of 4-5 URC games. With teams settling in, as if itโ€™s any indicator of international rugby ability. Yes all those players have been good in the league. Deegan wonโ€™t make Leinsters European team unless Conan is out and even then, itโ€™s doubtful. Ben Murphy will be possibly starting in the challenge cup. Shiny new toy syndrome in overdrive as always. Ireland arenโ€™t even remotely conservative in selection. Farrell has used 70+ players in 4 years. Which top team uses more? POM is in the squad to give him a send off in Dublin, Aherne has been injured pretty consistently and has been pretty much anonymous since his return from this injury.

Mute Ray Ridge
    Favourite Ray Ridge
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:40 PM

My god, we are looking thin in the front row. Injuries aside, itโ€™s rather disappointing. Still seeing the same auld names Healy, O mahony, Henderson, Murray etc etc. Lads who are passed it or lads who havenโ€™t had a big game in years. The only positive is to see Bolton in the extended squad or whatever fancy name they have on it now.

Mute 5sZl1dX2
    Favourite 5sZl1dX2

@Ray Ridge: completely agree. Would add Aki to that list. Draw a line at 32 and leave it at that. If Farrell is being conservative for Autumn games, we definitely wonโ€™t see anything new for the Six Nations

Mute Ray Ridge
    Favourite Ray Ridge
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:59 PM

@5sZl1dX2: Iโ€™d probably keep Aki as heโ€™s still putting in a shift every time he pulls on a Jersey, but I understand totally where youโ€™re coming from. We keep hearing about strength in depth in Irish rugby currently, but itโ€™s hard to see when the same names like Healy, Henderson, herring, o mahony, Murray and too lesser extinct Aki keeping being named. Of course thereโ€™s injuries also. Iโ€™d have Ahern in their ahead of Prendergast. Or even jansen.

See 2 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Colin Rainier
    Favourite Colin Rainier
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:53 PM

@5sZl1dX2: Thatโ€™s too simplistic. Itโ€™s position-dependent โ€“ there are plenty of tight-five players still killing it well past 32. Scrum-halves too (a general observation, not defending the selection of Conor Murray).

Mute Ray Ridge
    Favourite Ray Ridge
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:15 PM

@Colin Rainier: Youโ€™re right, but Iโ€™m not sure you could describe Healy, Herring, and Henderson as killing it, though.

Mute Comeonyouknow
    Favourite Comeonyouknow
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:22 PM

I thought Jeremy Loughman might have got a call up, but thatโ€™s just my Munster bias, other than that itโ€™s some squad

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:37 PM

@Comeonyouknow: he has been playing very well this season, but Iโ€™d say injury in last game rules him out for a few weeks.

Mute Adam Pitts
    Favourite Adam Pitts
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:52 PM

@Comeonyouknow: Injured in the last match.

Mute Lesidees
    Favourite Lesidees
    Oct 23rd 2024, 2:39 PM

Interesting to compare this with those who were in or around the World Cup squad. If I remember well, the only newcomer in the front row is Heffernan, who is presumably only there because of injuries to others; in the second and back row McCarthy and Izuchugwu are recent arrivals,no newcomers at scrum half or centreโ€ฆthough I suppose Frawley or Osborne might get a run here at some stage.

Itโ€™s getting to be more than a bit worrying that Cian Healy is still among the best props available, and an understudy for Porter who is less of a penalty conceding machine is overdue.

And let us hope that Cullen takes note of Farrellโ€™s assessment of Leinsterโ€™s out halvesโ€ฆ

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:28 PM

@Lesidees: itโ€™s signals that all experimentation will happen on the summer tour, with 10-15 Irish guys on tour with the Lions it gives them the opportunity to play all the young guys on the Irish tour. Iโ€™ve a feeling that squad will still include POM & Healy but will have Ahern, Kendellen, Gavin, Prendergast etc

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:37 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: it also signals a continuing lack of real competition in most positions.

If fit, the first choice xv is pretty easy to name โ€“ Porter Sheehan Furlong McCarthy Beirne Oโ€™Mahony Doris Vander Flier Gibson-Park Crowley Lowe Ringrose Aki Hansen Keenan.

You can maybe make a case for Ryan instead of Beirne, Conan for Oโ€™Mahony, Henshaw for Aki, but thatโ€™s about it

See 1 more reply โ–พ
    Mute Kevin Ryan
    Favourite Kevin Ryan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:03 PM

@lesidees: Ireland has more genuinely world class players than it has ever had before. Not realistic to expect there will also be guys who are good enough to take their places

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:33 PM

Andy knows what he is doing. Players will come in for the Fiji game. Why would we want our experienced internationals dropped for these games when there is no URC to keep them busy during the window. Keep her lit I say.

Mute 5sZl1dX2
    Favourite 5sZl1dX2
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:08 PM

@Paul Ennis: itโ€™s inevitable. Wholesale rotation for the Fiji game and Farrell will publicly moan about the performance. Happened the last time they played Fiji and after the Ireland A vs NZ A game. Rather than introduce a player to a semi-settled strong, basically put out a scratch side and be surprised thereโ€™s no cohesion

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:16 PM

@Paul Ennis: really? he made a balls of the world cup with our best squad ever assembled for a world cup.

See 6 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:20 PM

@Harry Barry & @Niall English I have ye lads muted so you are wasting your time

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:45 PM

@Paul Ennis: feels like the right squad for the first two games which will be incredibly tough and attritional. I think weโ€™ll have a lot of new faces coming in during the November window so i expect our Fiji and Aus teams will have some surprise in there. Iโ€™m very interested to see how split the Outhalves. I see Crowley starting against NZ but think Frawley will get at least one start against Arg or Aus โ€“ SP could be a starter v Fiji or off the bench etc

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:35 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: You are 100% right. It is almost like Andy picked the sequence of the games with exactly that in mind. Go hard or go home to begin with and then ease himself out and let Simon take over v Fiji and maybe Australia. There will also be a few injuries along the way to force a few call ups which is just the natural way we do things in Ireland. And it works.

Mute Carmine Lorenzo
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:51 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: Yeah hopefully Frawley is fit and gets at least 1 start. Crowley is the man in possession and Farrell places a lot of emphasis on that. But Crowley is playing quite poorly this season after an iffy South African series and Frawley is in good form. Would be good to see form rewarded a bit more.

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Oct 23rd 2024, 8:51 PM

@Paul Ennis: 2 ballbags lol

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 23rd 2024, 9:36 PM

@Shawn: Yeahโ€ฆ I was curious for all of about 0.05 seconds

Mute Conor Quinn
    Favourite Conor Quinn
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:36 PM

Pretty much as expected. Max Deegan probably most unfortunate โ€“ heโ€™s in better form and has a higher Test ceiling than Prendergast or Timoney IMO.

Healy, Oโ€™Mahony and Murray are all still in the top 3 players in their position and deserve their places in the squad. You donโ€™t drop experienced, quality players just because they wonโ€™t be there at the next world cup.

On the training panellists, McCann and Forde are unlucky to miss out, but I like the inclusion of Shayne Bolton.

Mute Kingshu
    Favourite Kingshu
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:06 PM

@Conor Quinn: I think Deegan is better than Timoney and Prendergast too, difference is they are starters for their team, and get plenty of gametime, Deegan only gets in, if there are injuries, think heโ€™s one of the fallouts of DH, players lacking ambition, โ€œIf youโ€™re happy to sit third, fourth, maybe fifth choice when you could be playing somewhere else and potentially developing your careerโ€ฆ thatโ€™s not the sort of player that will be travelling to places like this on tour.โ€ If Deegan had moved in the summer and was in this form, no doubt heโ€™d be in the squad.

Mute Conor Quinn
    Favourite Conor Quinn
    Oct 23rd 2024, 4:31 PM

@Kingshu: I think thatโ€™s probably true. Was there a specific offer for Deegan from one of the other provinces?

See 1 more reply โ–พ
    Mute Robert O'Connor
    Favourite Robert O'Connor
    Oct 23rd 2024, 8:00 PM

@Conor Quinn: Ulster were sounding him out apparently

Mute PJ Smith
    Favourite PJ Smith

A lot of apologies need to be issued by those who couldnโ€™t see the writing in the wall and screamed bloody murder over POM not getting a central contract when he was the Irish Captain.

Mute Barra Mac an Bhaird
    Favourite Barra Mac an Bhaird
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:46 PM

Jack Aungier a little unlucky not to be named.
    Everyone giving out about X or Y being picked. Farrell was always going to stick with the tried and trusted. Plenty of change next year when the Lions are on tour.

Mute Kingshu
    Favourite Kingshu

Still easier to make Ireland squads if wearing blue. But maybe does look like some for the 50/50s are going the way DH wanted. Only 2 LHs does that mean TOT is there as LH and TH cover, I thought that experiment was finished.

Mute Andrew Slazenger
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:23 PM

@Kingshu: If itโ€™s finished, it needs to be revivedโ€ฆ We have Porter and thatโ€™s it for the World Cup, maybe one of Loughman, Milne or A n other steps up but itโ€™s looking weak. TH on the other hand we have many options

Mute Kingshu
    Favourite Kingshu
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:44 PM

@Andrew Slazenger: Finished for ToT I ment. Ulster have said they are short at TH and will not be playing him at LH, heโ€™ll maybe train there in Ireland camps, but would need gametime if going to make the move. Think the IRFU are better looking at other options to ToT.

Mute anthony davoren
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:27 PM

Wasnโ€™t there some spoofer here thinking they know it all trying to make out Hansen and Farrell had fallen out

Mute Dean Harper
    Favourite Dean Harper
    Oct 23rd 2024, 9:16 PM

I have zero issues with DH ban on foreign props. The greatest internal threat to our long term success position wise is lack of props. We will be blown off the park if furlong porter go down / no viable successors are found.
    Deegan is v unlucky, quality operator but until he starts euro cup games or the top league fixtures when all Leinster players are available I think heโ€™ll be labelled as a Leinster back up player, come international selection, perhaps unfairly.
    McCanns unlucky heโ€™s as good/important as timoney at UR, his time will come undoubtedly, and heir to UR long term captaincy.
    My general take is โ€“ the 6ns success and all the money is intrinsic to the development and continued success of Irish rugby. It makes zero financial sense to risk that, especially how bad rugbyโ€™s finances are generally world wide. Anyone watching Irish rugby between 88 and 00, will never take 6ns success for granted.
    Re the actual fixtures- we owe the kiwis big time. Theyโ€™ll be desperate to beat us in our own backyard. Ire has put a lot of SA and Kiwi noses out of joint over the last several yrs, itโ€™s incredibly important to keep turning them over regularly. This isnโ€™t about ranking pts/tables, itโ€™s 100% about pecking orders, we are near the top, weโ€™ve done it our own way, and need to stay there. We have got the southern hemisphere mystic off our backs and young players are nolonger in awe.
    Interesting to see if a full deck to choose from how much POM features come 6ns, that hard nosed competitor attitude is great for pup development.

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Oct 23rd 2024, 3:14 PM

Iโ€™ve a feeling Jack Boyle will walk away with 2 or 3 caps post November and be our back up loose head in 2025.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:15 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: lololol

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:41 PM

@Niall English: not saying he deserves them, it just looks like he has found himself in the right place at the right time. FWIW i would have Loughman, Buckley or Oโ€™Sullivan ahead of him

See 1 more reply โ–พ
    Mute Carmine Lorenzo
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:26 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: 100%. Heโ€™s got a big chance tbf. Milne needs to fix his scrummaging. Both are great prospects for Ireland.

Mute Linda
    Favourite Linda
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:28 PM

Shane Bolton is overrated. He was found out by Ulster and Leinster. Andrew Osborne is a way better winger then him with loads more talent. What do Irish born players have to do to get into the national team? Too much preference for foreign-born players so we can hear non-stop SA and NZ fans on every forum comment on how Ireland only win because of them.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Oct 23rd 2024, 9:46 PM

@Linda: Andy obviously wants a look at him and maybe give him a few pointers. Remember James Lowe in his first couple of caps. He went away with work ons and came back a far better player. Bolton has that type of rough diamond feel to him that Andy likes. Ireland have not been good at breeding wingers through our academies (apart from Calvin Nash) and as a result we have not really produced a natural international winger since Tommy Bowe. We have been converting centres or full backs and importing from abroad. It has just been the way.

Mute Emmet Martin
    Favourite Emmet Martin
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:06 PM

Canโ€™t decide which Prendergast deserves to be there less

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:05 PM

WHERES SHANE DALY??!??

Mute Kevin Ryan
    Favourite Kevin Ryan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 10:16 PM

@Dave Moran: Who were you expecting would be left out so he could be included?

Mute Ivan O'Riordan
    Favourite Ivan O'Riordan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:27 PM

As a Munster supporter, itโ€™s worrying to see Beirne as the only forward selected. That tells a story. Thought Tom Ahern would make it. Great ball handler with speed. One for the future. Keegan also unlucky.

Mute Carmine Lorenzo
    Oct 23rd 2024, 7:25 PM

@Ivan Oโ€™Riordan: Kendellen might see minutes. Big fan of his serious player.

Mute Tom Reilly
    Favourite Tom Reilly
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:51 PM

Itโ€™s a very experienced squad. There will be some young players like McCann and Culhane disappointed not to be in the training squad but they may have a chance to impress before the 6Ns. The big elephant in the room regarding Irish rugby is the lack of young quality props coming through.

Mute Harry O' Callaghan
    Favourite Harry O' Callaghan
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:44 PM

Great to see Clarkson, Boyle and McCarthy in the training panelistโ€™s. Prop is a real area of weakness that we need to be developing right now. Would like to have seen Ben Murphy but I think itโ€™s still a bit early for him. Heโ€™s burst onto the scene so he has to deliver consistency from now on and until next season to be considered.

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Oct 23rd 2024, 6:46 PM

@Harry Oโ€™ Callaghan: like Ben Murphy but his box kicking in the last 2 rounds probably cost him

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Oct 23rd 2024, 5:29 PM

Zero interest in reading the comments all the same toxic (Nice Squad)

Mute frank walsh
    Favourite frank walsh
    Oct 24th 2024, 10:49 AM

Murray owes Ireland nothing but past his best.casey not the answer. We have second best scrum half in world in Gibson Park.god help us when he retires

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel