Scannell and Conway start as Schmidt rings changes for second Test

Tadhg Beirne could make his Ireland debut from the bench in Melbourne.

Murray Kinsella reports from Melbourne

JOE SCHMIDT HAS made eight personnel changes to his Ireland team for the second Test against Australia in Melbourne on Saturday [KO 11.05am Irish time, Sky Sports].

Munster’s Andrew Conway and Niall Scannell are handed surprise starting chances on the right wing and at hooker, respectively.

As expected, Johnny Sexton, Dan Leavy, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Devin Toner and Garry Ringrose all come back into the starting XV, while Tadhg Beirne could make his Ireland debut from the bench.

Johnny Sexton Sexton is back to steer the ship. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Sexton returns to the number 10 shirt after Joey Carbery was handed a start last weekend, while Ringrose comes into the team at outside centre, meaning Robbie Henshaw moves into 12 as Bundee Aki drops out of the squad.

Conway joins Rob Kearney and Keith Earls in the back three, Earls having come through his return-to-play protocols to make a move to the left wing, with Jacob Stockdale dropping out.

Furlong and Healy are back as the starting props after bench roles last weekend, while Scannell gets a start in the number two shirt, with Sean Cronin absent from the matchday squad and Rob Herring playing back-up at hooker.

Toner comes into the second row alongside James Ryan, while Leavy’s inclusion at openside flanker means he resumes in the Grand Slam-winning back row with Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander.

Munster-bound Beirne will be hopeful of a debut off the bench, which also includes Ulster scrum-half John Cooney and Leinster tighthead Andrew Porter.

Meanwhile, Michal Cheika has named a completely unchanged matchday 23 as the Wallabies look to secure a series success in Melbourne on Saturday.


15. Rob Kearney
14. Andrew Conway
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. Keith Earls
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Conor Murray

1. Cian Healy
2. Niall Scannell
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. James Ryan
5. Devin Toner
6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)
7. Dan Leavy
8. CJ Stander


16. Rob Herring
17. Jack McGrath
18. Andrew Porter
19. Tadhg Beirne
20. Jordi Murphy
21. John Cooney
22. Joey Carbery
23. Jordan Larmour

Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's exclusive analysis on the URC interpros and Champions Cup clashes this December

Become a Member


15. Israel Folau
14. Dane Haylett-Petty
13. Samu Kerevi
12. Kurtley Beale
11. Marika Koroibete
10. Bernard Foley
9. Will Genia

1. Scott Sio
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa
3. Sekope Kepu
4. Izack Rodda
5. Adam Coleman
6. David Pocock
7. Michael Hooper (captain)
8. Caleb Timu


16. Tolu Latu
17. Allan Alaalatoa
18. Taniela Tupou
19. Rob Simmons
20. Lukhan Tui
21. Pete Samu
22. Nick Phipps
23. Reece Hodge

Referee: Paul Williams [NZR].

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Irish coach Mike Prendergast set to join reinvigorated Stade Français

Back row revamp as France make five changes for All Blacks revenge mission

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel