Challenge Accepted

'That was in if you want to challenge it' - A great bit of sportsmanship from Jack Sock

More of this, please.

THE HOPMAN CUP isn’t exactly the be all and end all for tennis players, but Jack Sock went above and beyond with this classy bit of sportsmanship nonetheless.

Sock was up against Lleyton Hewitt on Tuesday when the line umpire incorrectly called one of Hewitt’s serves out.

Aware that the serve was in fact good, Sock shouted across the court to let his opponent know.

“That was in if you want to challenge it,” the American said to the bemusement of Hewitt, the chair umpire, and the crowd.

“Challenge it!”

Hewitt did and — thankfully for all involved — HawkEye showed that the ball was in.

Hewitt went on to win the set, the match, and the tie for Australia Gold, but Sock won a lot of new fans.

Dave Ward / YouTube

[h/t FM104]

The new ESPN 30 for 30 lineup includes a five-part doc on OJ Simpson

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.