This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 18 April, 2019

True warrior, legend, savage competitor, benchmark - tributes paid to Kilkenny's Tyrrell

The star defender retired today.

Jackie Tyrrell celebrates after the game Jackie Tyrrell celebrates after the 2012 All-Ireland senior final Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

JACKIE TYRRELL BROUGHT the curtain down on a superb Kilkenny hurling career today when he revealed he was retiring.

After helping Kilkenny to win 29 senior hurling titles and also winning four All-Star awards, there was plenty praise coming the way of the James Stephens man.


1. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @Richie Hogan Source: Richie Hogan/Twitter

2. Aidan O’Mahony (Kerry)

Tweet by @Aidan O Mahony Source: Aidan O Mahony/Twitter

3. Richie Power (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @Richie Power Source: Richie Power/Twitter

4. Shane McGrath (Tipperary)

Tweet by @Shane McGrath Source: Shane McGrath/Twitter

5. Brian Hogan (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @Brian Hogan Source: Brian Hogan/Twitter

6. Paul Flynn (Dublin)

Tweet by @Paul Flynn Source: Paul Flynn/Twitter

7. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @tjreid12 Source: tjreid12/Twitter

8. Brian Carroll (Offaly)

Tweet by @Brian Carroll Source: Brian Carroll/Twitter

9. Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @Kieran Joyce Source: Kieran Joyce/Twitter

10. Paul Galvin (Kerry)

Tweet by @paul galvin Source: paul galvin/Twitter

11. Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @Paul Murphy Source: Paul Murphy/Twitter

12. Darran O’Sullivan (Kerry)

Tweet by @Darran O'Sullivan Source: Darran O'Sullivan/Twitter

13. JJ Delaney (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @JJ Delaney Source: JJ Delaney/Twitter

14. Eoin Cadogan (Cork)

Tweet by @Eoin Cadogan Source: Eoin Cadogan/Twitter

15. James Skehill (Galway)

Tweet by @James Skehill Source: James Skehill/Twitter

16. Aidan Fogarty (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @Aidan Fogarty Source: Aidan Fogarty/Twitter

17. John O’Dwyer (Tipperary)

Tweet by @bubbles o dwyer Source: bubbles o dwyer/Twitter

18. Marc Ó Sé (Kerry)

Tweet by @Marc Ó Sé Source: Marc Ó Sé/Twitter

19. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @Eoin Murphy Source: Eoin Murphy/Twitter

20. Neil McManus (Antrim)

Tweet by @Neil McManus Source: Neil McManus/Twitter

21. Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @Henry Shefflin Source: Henry Shefflin/Twitter

22. Tomás Ó Sé (Kerry)

Tweet by @Tomás Ó Sé Source: Tomás Ó Sé/Twitter

23. Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny)

Tweet by @Michael kavanagh Source: Michael kavanagh/Twitter

24. Aaron Kernan (Armagh)

Tweet by @Aaron Kernan Source: Aaron Kernan/Twitter

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Who do you think should be the Leinster footballer and hurler of the year?

Dublin hurlers lose another member of their 2013 Leinster winning pack

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: