Tipperary and Cork hurlers to experiment

The Galway team has also been named for their Walsh Cup semi-final tomorrow.

Cormac Murphy (Cork) and Jason Forde (Tipperary).
Cormac Murphy (Cork) and Jason Forde (Tipperary).
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

TIPPERARY HAVE HANDED out six debuts for Sunday’s Waterford Crystal Cup semi-final against Limerick IT.

The clash is scheduled to take place in Dolla at 12pm and the home club Silvermines provide three newcomers to the team.

Centre-back Ronan Sherlock, wing-back Orrie Quirke and wing-forward Jason Forde are all set to start for Tipperary.

They were involved last Sunday with Silvermines in their All-Ireland club IHC semi-final loss after extra-time against Kilkenny’s Clara.

The other newcomers are corner-backs Christy Coughlan and Tom Treacy, and full-forward Cian Hogan.

Manager Eamonn O’Shea has made four other changes from the team that defeated Limerick in last week’s quarter-final with Darren Gleeson, Thomas Stapleton, Shane McGrath and John O’Brien all handed starting spots.

TIPPERARY: Darren Gleeson (Portroe); Christy Coughlan (Templederry Kenyons), Thomas Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons), Tom Treacy (Cappawhite); Joey McLoughney (Toomevara), Ronan Sherlock (Silvermines), Orrie Quirke (Silvermines); Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch), Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty); John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), James Woodlock (Drom and Inch), Jason Forde (Silvermines); John O’Neill (Clonoulty Rossmore), Cian Hogan (Lorrha & Dorrha), John O’Brien (Toomevara).

Cork face Clare in the first Waterford Crystal Cup semi-final tonight in Sixmilebridge at 7.45pm. The Rebels have continued to experiment for the game with newcomers like Pat O’Sullivan, Mark Ellis and Stephen White given game time again in defence.

Rob O’Shea at midfield and the attacking trio of Brian Corry, Cormac Murphy and Adrian Mannix are afforded the chance to impress again. All of the new players have shown promise in the underage ranks for the county.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Conor O’Sullivan at corner-back and Stephen Moylan at full-forward are the two new players drafted in from the side that defeated Waterford IT last week.

CORK: Anthony Nash (Kanturk); Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields), Mark Ellis (Millstreet), Pat O’Sullivan (Carrigtwohill); Colm Spillane (Castlelyons), Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), Stephen White (Ballygarvan); Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields), Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline); Brian Corry (Ballymartle), Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields), Cormac Murphy (Mallow); Adrian Mannix (Kilworth), Stephen Moylan (Douglas), Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum).
Subs: William McCarthy (Carrigtwohill), James O’Donovan (Bandon), Michael Walsh (Kildorrery), Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers), David Pyne (Harbour Rovers), Daire Lordan (Courcey Rovers), Fintan O’Leary (Ballinhassig).
Galway boss Anthony Cunningham has handed Tony Óg Regan, Iarlaith Tannian and Damian Hayes their 2013 starting debuts for tomorrow’s Walsh Cup semi-final against Dublin in Parnell Park.

Regan will start at centre-back while Tannian and Hayes, who came on as substitutes in last week’s win over Carlow, start at midfield and wing-forward respectively.

In all Galway have named nine of the team that started in last September’s All-Ireland final replay against Kilkenny. Colm Callanan is recalled to goal, Aidan Harte starts at wing-back while in attack Jonathan Glynn, Paul Gordon, Niall Healy and Davy Glennon are afforded starting berths.

GALWAY: Colm Callanan (Kinvara); Fergal Moore (Turloughmore), Kevin Hynes (Sarsfields), Johnny Coen (Loughrea); David Collins (Liam Mellowes), Tony Og Regan (Rahoon-Newcastle), Aidan Harte (Gort); Andy Smyth (Portumna), Iarlaith Tannian (Ardrahan); Damian Hayes (Portumna), Johnny Glynn (Ardrahan), Paul Gordon (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry); Niall Healy (Craughwell), Joe Canning (Portumna), Davy Glennon (Mullagh).

Fitzgibbon Cup round-up

Uncertainty over Cusack’s future Cork playing career

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: