15 GAA players who are set for their first championship in retirement

This lot have hung up their boots since last summer.

THEY GAVE THEIR counties loyal and unstinting service over several years.

But some of the country’s leading GAA stars saw their inter-county careers come to an end after the 2012 championship season.

Some departed with medals, some were left with regrets but all left great memories as they established themselves as leading lights in hurling and Gaelic football.

As the 2013 GAA championship cranks into action, there’s plenty who will be looking on in the role of retired men as the action unfolds.

15. Aaron Hoey (Louth)

14. Barry Cahill (Dublin)

13. Brian McGuigan (Tyrone)

12. Donal Og Cusack (Cork)

11. Eamonn O’Hara (Sligo)

10. Eoin McGrath (Waterford)

9. Joe Bergin (Galway)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

8. John Mullane (Waterford)

7. Nicholas Murphy (Cork)

6. Noel Hickey (Kilkenny)

5. Padraic Joyce (Galway)

4. Ronan McGarrity (Mayo)

3. Ryan McMenamin (Tyrone)

2. Sean Óg Ó hAilpín (Cork)

1. Tomás Quinn (Dublin)

All pics by INPHO

Here are our writer’s predictions for the 2013 GAA championship season

The new guys: 6 young hurlers to watch this summer

The young and the restless: 6 young footballers to watch out for this summer

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: