Tempers flare between the Kerry and Dublin players. Cathal Noonan/INPHO
Happy Kingdom

Kerry see off 14-man Dublin to win fiery league battle at home in Killarney

Kieran Donaghy captained Kerry to success on his birthday at Fitzgerald Stadium.

Kerry 0-15
Dublin 1-10

A FIRST LEAGUE win at home to Dublin in 12 years today for Kerry as they picked up the Division 1 points on offer after an enhanced second-half display in a fractious encounter at Fitzgerald Stadium.

Seven yellow cards, four black cards and a late red card for Dublin’s Michael Fitzsimons was testament to how this combative match frequently spilled over. It was an afternoon of testing conditions with rain and sunshine mixed with a fierce second-half shower of hailstones.

But Kerry were full value for their success as they knitted together a brilliant passage of play after the break to overturn a 0-7 to 0-6 deficit and go 0-14 to 0-8 clear. A late Bernard Brogan goal offered Dublin some hope yet they couldn’t mine any return out of their journey to Killarney.

Kieran Donaghy captained Kerry for the first time as he returned following the disappointment of Austin Stacks recent club championship exit and Donaghy celebrated his 32nd birthday on a successful note.

Kieran Donaghy and Rory OÕCarroll Rory O'Carroll and Kieran Donaghy. Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

Dublin lost Denis Bastick and Philly McMahon to black cards during the game while Fitzsimons saw red for a late challenge on Fionn Fitzgerald. Jim Gavin will be disappointed at his team’s second-half slump but Kerry simply upped the ante after the break to power past their opponents.

Kerry were robbed of Paul Murphy and Jack Sherwood due to black cards but prior to Sherwood’s late foul, he had been outstanding at the heart of the Kingdom defence. Fionn Fitzgerald and Mark Griffin also showed up well at the back while Anthony Maher and David Moran gained a firm grip at midfield for Kerry. Johnny Buckley and Stephen O’Brien popped up well in attack while Bryan Sheehan’s place-kicking was superb.

The opening exchanges were even today but Dublin made a notable burst to go 0-6 to 0-3 clear by the 23rd minute. Kerry came back into contention at the interval when they trailed by 0-7 to 0-6. They enjoyed great joy at disrupting Dublin’s kick out as they intercepted kicks from Sean Currie.

Johnny Buckley and David Moran with Cian O'Sullivan and Jack McCaffrey Dublin and Kerry players rise high for possession. Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

Twice Kerry came close to goal in the first-half but Paul Geaney was denied by a brave block from Currie while another move broke down when Geaney’s hands was intercepted close to goal.

Kerry stepped up their endeavours after the break. Sheehan (2), O’Brien, Moran and Geaney all snapped over points in the first ten minutes with Brogan offering the solitary Dublin reply. Kerry kept charging forward as Sheehan and Barry John Keane (2) grabbed further points to send them 0-14 to 0-8 clear.

The scoring dried up in the finale and Kerry went the last 15 minutes without a score. Dublin pounced for the only goal of the game with seven minutes remaining after McManamon’s shot was saved and after the ball spun into the air, it was touched home in a scramble by Brogan. Dublin pressed hard at the finish but Kerry held on.

Bryan Sheehan Bryan Sheehan battles the tough conditions. Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Kerry: Bryan Sheehan 0-6 (0-4f, 0-1 ’45), Johnny Buckley, Barry John Keane, Stephen O’Brien 0-2 each, Michael Geaney, David Moran, Paul Geaney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: Bernard Brogan 1-2 (0-1f), Jack McCaffrey 0-2, Shane Carthy, Tomas Brady, Dean Rock (0-1f), Ciaran Kilkenny, Kevin McManamon, Eoghan O’Gara 0-1 each.


1. Brendan Kealy

2. Pa Kilkenny
3. Mark Griffin
4. Fionn Fitzgerald

5. Jonathan Lyne
6. Jack Sherwood
7. Paul Murphy

8. Anthony Maher
9. David Moran

10. Michael Geaney
11. Bryan Sheehan
12. Johnny Buckley

13. Stephen O’Brien
14. Kieran Donaghy
15. Paul Geaney

19. Killian Young for Murphy (black card) (34)
18. Barry John Keane for Michael Geaney (half-time)
17. Tommy Walsh for Paul Geaney (59)
24. Shane Enright for Kilkenny (61)
23. Philip O’Connor for O’Brien (68)


1. Sean Currie

22. Michael Fitzsimons
3. Rory O’Carroll
4. Darren Daly

7. Jack McCaffrey
24. Philip McMahon
5. Johnny Cooper

8. Denis Bastick
20. Shane Carthy

10. Tomas Brady
11. Dean Rock
12. Ciaran Kilkenny

13. Kevin McManamon
14. Eoghan O’Gara
15. Cormac Costello

25. Cian O’Sullivan for Bastick (black card) (15)
18. Bernard Brogan for Costello (half-time)
21. Nicky Devereux for McMahon (black card) (52)
9. Bryan Fenton for Brady (58)
23. Eric Lowndes for Cooper (64)

Referee: Eddie Kinsella (Laois)

Michael Murphy sent-off but Donegal inflict first league defeat on Cork

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.