Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Friday 7 May 2021

O'Shea ruled out with injury for Kerry but Geaney makes quick recovery to play Kildare

Stephen O’Brien and Johnny Buckley both make the bench.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

EAMONN FITZMAURICE HAS made three changes to the Kerry team to play Kildare following their 12-point Division 1 defeat to Dublin last weekend.

Fionn Fitzgerald comes in for Shane Enright, while Dáithí Casey replaces Sean O’Shea and Barry John Keane is in for Adrian Spillane.

Paul Geaney starts at corner-forward despite going off injured against Dublin at half-time last weekend.

Stephen O’Brien has recovered sufficiently from a hamstring problem to make the bench, while Johnny Buckley also returns to the substitutes.

Kildare have made two changes from their loss to Mayo, as Johnny Byrne replaces Cian O’Donoghue and Ben McCormack comes in for David Slattery.


1. Shane Murphy (Dr. Crokes)

2. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Ronan Shanahan (Austin Stacks)

5. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)
6. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
7. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr. Crokes)

8. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil)
9. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)

10. Micheál Burns (Dr. Crokes)
11. Dáithí Casey (Dr. Crokes)
12. Kevin McCarthy (Kilcummin)

13. David Clifford (Fossa)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)


16. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)
17. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe)
18. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)
19. Michael Geaney (Dingle)
20. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)
21. Matthew Flaherty (Dingle)
22. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)
23. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore)
24. Johnny Buckley (Dr. Crokes)
25. Killian Spillane (Templenoe)
26. Cormac Coffey (Kerins O’Rahillys


1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

2. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House)
3. David Hyland (Athy)
4. Mick O’Grady (Celbridge)

5. Johnny Byrne (Allenwood)
6. Eoin Doyle (Nass)
7. Kevin Flynn (Celbridge)

8. Kevin Feely (Athy)
9. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)

10. Fergal Conway (Celbridge)
11. Keith Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)
12. Paddy Brophy (Celbridge)

13. Ben McCormack (Sarsfields)
14. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge)
15. Niall Kelly (Athy)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

4 changes for Kilkenny ahead of league quarter-final against Offaly

Colm Galvin returns from injury to start for Clare in league quarter-final against Limerick

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel