Dublin: 10°C Saturday 25 June 2022

O'Donoghue and Geaney return, O'Connor handed Kerry championship debut for Clare clash

Shane Ryan, meanwhile, retains his place in between the posts for the Kingdom.

Paul Geaney returns to the starting line-up after being a used sub against Mayo in the league final.
Paul Geaney returns to the starting line-up after being a used sub against Mayo in the league final.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

PETER KEANE WELCOMES back forwards Paul Geaney and James O’Donoghue to his starting line-up as Kerry take on Clare in this Saturday’s Munster SFC semi-final [throw-in 7pm].

The Kingdom look to put the disappointment of March’s league final defeat to Mayo behind them and have shuffled their pack ahead of this weekend’s game, handing out two championship debuts.

Shane Ryan keeps his place in between the sticks and makes his first championship appearance for Keane’s side.

The injured Peter Crowley is unavailable for this year’s championship campaign, so Tadhg Morley comes in in his place at fullback.

Jason Foley comes in at cornerback, while Tom O’Sullivan keeps his place on the opposite flank.

Jack Sherwood moves out of the fullback line and takes the number six jersey at centreback. Gavin Crowley retains his place in the halfback line, while Shane Enright comes into the starting 15 in place of Paul Murphy.

It’s a new-look midfield with David Moran and Templenoe’s Adrian Spillane in the middle of the park for Kerry.

Diarmuid O’Connor, making his championship debut, is pushed into wing forward, with Sean O’Shea and Stephen O’Brien completing the half-forward line.

David Clifford is the only survivor in the full forwards with O’Donoghue and Dingle’s Geaney – substitutes at Croke Park against the Westerners – coming in in place of Tommy Walsh and Kevin McCarthy.

Among the replacements, Graham O’Sullivan is also in line to make his championship debut this weekend.

Stephen O'Brien celebrates scoring their second goal with Tommy Walsh Stephen O'Brien retains his place in the starting XV. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kerry team (v Clare)

1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

2. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
3. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Gavin Crowley  (Templenoe)
6. Jack Sherwood (Firies)
7. Shane Enright (Tarbert)

8. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)
9. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe)

10. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)
11. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)
12. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)

13. David Clifford (Fossa)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion)

16. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)
17. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore)
18. Brian Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghealtacht)
19. Michael Geaney (Dingle)
20. Graham O’Sullivan (Piarsaigh na Dromoda)
21. Tommy Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys)
22. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion)
23. Micheál Burns (Dr. Crokes)
24. Robert Wharton (Renard)
25. Conor Geaney (Dingle)
26. Gavin White (Dr. Crokes)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

Clare team (v Kerry)

1. Stephen Ryan

2. Gordon Kelly
3. Cillian Brennan
4. Kevin Hartnett

5. Sean Collins
6. Aaron Fitzgerald
7. Dean Ryan

8. Gary Brennan
9. Cathal O’Connor

10. Kieran Malone
11. Eoin Cleary
12. Jamie Malone

13. Cian O’Dea
14. Cormac Murray
15. Gavin Cooney

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel