Dublin: 15°C Thursday 11 August 2022

Laois make 4 changes for Wexford clash and Munnelly set to start in Leinster opener 15 years after title win

New Laois manager John Sugrue takes his team to the south-east on Saturday evening.

Ross Munnelly celebrating the Division 4 league final win with John O'Loughlin.
Ross Munnelly celebrating the Division 4 league final win with John O'Loughlin.
Image: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

LAOIS HAVE A new manager and have shaken up their side from the league final but they will begin their 2018 championship campaign on Saturday with a survivor from their famous title win 15 years ago.

Ross Munnelly made his breakthrough in 2003 and scored 1-1 in that Leinster final win over Kildare yet he is still integral to their side and will start his 16th championship campaign after being named corner-forward for Saturday’s meeting with Wexford.

Kerry native John Sugrue is in his debut season in charge of Laois and after their Division 4 league final success over Carlow, he has made four changes for the Leinster opener.

Ruaidhri C Fennell comes into the team at corner-back for his championship debut while the attack sees Damien O’Connor, David Conway and Gary Walsh all introduced.

Robbie Pigott, who has departed for the USA for the summer, drops out of defence while Brian Glynn, Benny Carroll and the injured Eoin Lowry make way from the forward line.

Walsh’s return is a boost after he missed the league final due to disciplinary reasons while Evan O’Carroll and Paul Cahillane both miss out due to injury.

Throw-in on Saturday evening at Innovate Wexford Park is 6.30pm.

John Sugrue celebrates after the game Laois manager John Sugrue celebrates after the league final success against Carlow. Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO


1. Graham Brody (Portlaoise)

2. Ruaidhri C Fennell (Rosenallis)
3. Mark Timmons (Graiguecullen)
4. Gareth Dillon (Portlaoise)

5. Trevor Collins (Graiguecullen)
6. Colm Begley (Stradbally)
7. Stephen Attride (Killeshin)

8. John O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s, Dublin)
9. Kieran Lillis (Portlaoise)

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

10. Alan Farrell (Ballylinan)
11. Donal Kingston (Arles-Kileen)
12. Damien O’Connor (Timahoe)

13. Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise)
14. David Conway (Arles-Kilcruise)
15. Gary Walsh (Ballylinan)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Black cards, two referees, mouthguards and melees – the issues facing the GAA’s officials this summer

‘I will always learn off Pat’ – Cunningham on working with Gilroy

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel