Dublin: 14°C Monday 16 May 2022

Leinster confirm Nagle signing as 17 players seal new contracts

The 27-year-old lock will join from London Irish at the end of the season.

LEINSTER HAVE CONFIRMED the signing of second row Ian Nagle ahead of next season, while also announcing contract renewals for 17 players.

Dave Kearney with Teddy Thomas Kearney is among the 17 who have signed new Leinster contracts. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Ireland internationals Dave Kearney, Mike Ross, Jack McGrath, Mike McCarthy, Rhys Ruddock, Michael Bent and Tadhg Furlong are among the renewals, as is captain Isa Nacewa.

Promising young players Garry Ringrose, Josh van der Flier, Peter Dooley, James Tracy, Ross Molony, Cathal Marsh, Tom Daly and Adam Byrne have also penned new contracts.

It is not Leinster policy to announce the duration or type of contracts for their players. The province has also confirmed that today’s list of renewals is not a definitive one and there may be further updates in the coming weeks.

Most notable among the absentees from Leinster’s list of players to have renewed expiring contracts are Cian Healy, Eoin Reddan and Isaac Boss.

Healy has had an approach from Premiership outfit Worcester, but it is understood that he remains in negotiations with the IRFU and has not signed for the English club.

Former Munster man Nagle took a break from professional rugby in recent seasons, but recently returned to the game on a short-term deal with London Irish until the end of the current campaign.

“It is well documented at this stage that Ian took a sabbatical from rugby at the end of the 2013/14 season to pursue educational opportunities most recently at Cambridge University,” said Leinster head coach Leo Cullen.

Ian Nagle Nagle will join from London Irish. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

“He has however made a return to rugby with London Irish and was involved last weekend in their win against Worcester. He is also relatively young at 27 and I think he will add even more experience and competition to an already competitive second row roster.”

The signing of Nagle and the 17 contract renewals come alongside the confirmation that Robbie Henshaw will join Leinster next season on a three-year contract, meaning the eastern province’s squad for 2016/17 is taking shape.

By and large we are very happy with where we are at,” said Cullen.

It is fantastic to see so many talented players commit their futures to Leinster Rugby and I think the supporters will be hugely excited as we continue to build our squad for the 2016/17 season and beyond.”

Leinster contract renewals for 2016/17:

Michael Bent
Adam Byrne
Tom Daly
Peter Dooley
Tadhg Furlong
Dave Kearney
Cathal Marsh
Mike McCarthy
Jack McGrath
Ross Molony
Isa Nacewa
Sean O’Brien
Garry Ringrose
Mike Ross
Rhys Ruddock
James Tracy
Josh van der Flier

€100,000 invested in free concussion screening programme for amateur rugby players

IRFU confirm Robbie Henshaw’s move from Connacht to Leinster

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: