Ken Sutton/INPHO A good night's work for Wexford boss Liam Dunne
# Intermediate
Liam Dunne's Wexford team end Galway's reign as All-Ireland hurling champions
Jack Pettitt’s early goal proved decisive in Portlaoise.

Wexford 1-16
Galway 0-16

Jackie Cahill reports from O’Moore Park, Portlaoise

JACK PETTITT’S EARLY goal proved decisive as Wexford ended Galway’s reign as Leinster and All-Ireland intermediate hurling champions at O’Moore Park in Portlaoise this evening.

Liam Dunne’s Wexford ran out three-point winners to set up a provincial final clash with Kilkenny on 13 July.

Galway fielded a youthful side containing 7 U21s and two members of last year’s All-Ireland minor winning side from the start – Shane Bannon and Seán Loftus, who captained the minors at Croke Park last September.

Brian Concannon and Jack Kenny came off the bench to swell that minor contingent to four but Wexford were physically stronger and held off a fightback from the Tribesmen to advance.

Full-forward Pettitt took advantage of a goalkeeping error to find the net in the ninth minute and Wexford went on to lead by seven points, 1-7 to 0-3, midway through the half.

Galway fought back to within three points approaching half-time and were still very much in touch at the break, trailing by 0-9 to 1-10.

But they didn’t help themselves over the hour by racking up a tally of 15 wides, compared to Wexford’s seven.

Galway did get back to within two points with five minutes remaining, when Concannon shot over a point from play, but Wexford held out to avenge last year’s Leinster final defeat.

Wexford had strong displays from Pettitt, particularly in the first half, wing-forward John Doyle and free-taker Tommy Dwyer, operating around the middle of the field.

Galway were best served on the night by Loftus, an exciting young talent, while Cian Burke enjoyed a good second half but also shot a couple of wides.

Scorers for Wexford: Tommy Dwyer 0-6 (0-5f), Jack Pettitt 1-2, John Doyle 0-4 (0-1f), Simon Donohoe, Billy Dunne, Gary Moore & Ryan Mahon 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: Niall Morrissey (0-4f), Aidan Helebert (0-3f) 0-4 each, Seán Loftus 0-3, Cian Burke 0-2, Roy Lane, Richie Cummins, Brian Concannon 0-1 each.


1. Darragh Hughes (Naomh Eanna)

2. Aaron Maddock (St Martin’s)
3. Seán Murphy (Buffers Alley)
4. Simon Donohue (Shelmaliers)

5. Jack Kelly (Rapparees)
6. Richie Kehoe (Faythe Harriers)
7. Kevin Sheridan (Oulart-The-Ballagh)

8. Billy Dunne (Oulart-The-Ballagh)
9. Tommy Dwyer (Ferns St Aidans)

10. John Doyle (St Patrick’s)
11. Danny Martin Carroll (Rathgarogue/Cushinstown)
12. Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s)

13. Gary Moore (Glynn-Barntown)
14. Jack Pettitt (Our Lady’s Island)
15. Ryan Mahon (Rapparees)


20. Shane Murphy (St James) for O’Connor (39)
22. Jake Firman (St Martin’s) for Moore (39)
17. Donal Shanley (St Fintan’s) for Shane Murphy (52)
23. Ross Donohoe (Buffers Alley) for Mahon (57)
21. Nicky Kirwan (Oulart-The-Ballagh) for Pettitt (57)


1. Joe Keane (Portumna)

2. Vincent Doyle (Turloughmore)
5. Brian Flaherty (Abbeyknockmoy)
4. Shane Bannon (Clarinbridge)

8. Seán Loftus (Turloughmore)
6. Martin Dolphin (Portumna)
7. Stephen Roche (Kilnadeema/Leitrim)

17. Niall Morrissey (Sarsfields)
12. Adrian Morrissey (Liam Mellows)

10. Cian Burke (Athenry)
11. Aidan Helebert (Gort)
19. Roy Lane (Ballinderreen)

13. Richie Cummins (Gort)
14. Paul Gordon (Tynagh Abbey/Duniry)
15. Jamie Ryan (Athenry)


23. Ronan Bellew (Pádraig Pearses) for Helebert (half-time)
18. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly) for Lane (42)
21. Jack Kenny (Kilnadeema/Leitrim) for Morrissey (42)

Referee: Gavin Quilty (Kilkenny)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!