This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 25 August, 2019

Two debutants for Limerick as key forwards return to championship team after recent club exploits

Limerick travel to Ennis on Sunday to face Clare.

TWO PLAYERS WILL make their senior football championship debuts for Limerick on Sunday against Clare, while two key forwards return to the starting side after being absent in recent campaigns.

pjimage Limerick's Ger Collins and Seamus O'Carroll. Source: INPHO

Corner-back Daniel Daly and midfielder David Ward – both from the Fr Caseys club – are the newcomers for the clash with the Banner in Ennis.

There’s a first start as well for centre-forward James Naughton, who came on a substitute last summer.

Daniel Daly tackles Jack Barry Daniel Daly (right) challenges Jack Barry in the McGrath Cup final in January. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

David Ward and Jack Savage David Ward (left) in action in January's McGrath Cup final against Jack Savage. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The Limerick team has been strengthened greatly by the return to championship action by Seamus O’Carroll and Ger Collins to the full-forward line.

O’Carroll last played in championship for Limerick in the 2013 qualifier loss to Longford while Collins last outing in championship was in the 2014 qualifier defeat to Sligo.

The pair returned for the start of the 2017 campaign and have shown excellent form at club level.

Collins hit 0-6 last October when his club Monaleen lifted the Limerick senior football crown for the first time in five years.

Ger Collins celebrates a late score Ger Collins and Monaleen ended a five-year wait for Limerick senior honours. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

O’Carroll has moved to play club football in Dublin this year and recently hit 1-10 in Castleknock’s second round victory over St Oliver Plunkett’s.

Seamus O'Carroll and Sean Hawkins Seamus O'Carroll converted a penalty for Castleknock. Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

New Limerick boss Billy Lee has lost several players who were in action when Limerick’s 2016 campaign ended against Cork last July.

Injury rules out Seanie Buckley and Ian Ryan, Paudie Browne has emigrated, Stephen Cahill has joined the hurling squad while Pa Ranahan has retired.

There are seven survivors remaining from the team that started that loss to Cork in goalkeeper Donal O’Sullivan, full-back Johnny McCarthy, corner-back Sean O’Dea, wing-back Brian Fanning, midfielder Darragh Treacy and wing-forwards Peter Nash and Garrett Noonan.

Ruairi Deane tackles Darragh Tracey Darragh Treacy (left) in action for Limerick against Cork last summer. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


1. Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen)

2. Daniel Daly (Fr Caseys)
3. Johnny McCarthy (St Kieran’s)
4. Sean O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen)

5. Paul White (Rathkeale)
6. Iain Corbett (Newcastle West)
7. Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen)

8. Darragh Treacy (St Kieran’s)
9. David Ward (Fr Caseys)

10. Peter Nash (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
11. James Naughton (St Senan’s)
12. Garrett Noonan (Dromcollogher-Broadford)

13. Seamus O’Carroll (Castleknock, Dublin)
14. Danny Neville (Ballysteen)
15. Ger Collins (Monaleen)


16. Brian Scanlon (Gerald Griffins)
17. Tony McCarthy (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
18. Padraig Quinn (Monaleen)
19. Jamie Lee (Newcastle West)
20. Padraig Scanlon (Glin)
21. Josh Ryan (Oola)
22. Sean McSweeney (St Kieran’s)
23. Padraig De Brún (Firies, Kerry)
24. Sean Sheehan (Rathkeale)
25. Bill Creamer (Cappamore)
26. Jamie McGarry (Claughaun)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leitrim name youthful side with five debutants in attack while London start without Owen Mulligan

Waterford hand football debut for Cork game to forward with senior and U21 hurling experience

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: