Mike Casey set for long-awaited Limerick return, Tipperary make five changes

The final round of regulation games in the Allianz Hurling League take place this weekend.

TIPPERARY SENIOR HURLING manager Colm Bonnar has made five changes to his team for their Allianz League meeting with Antrim.

Bonnar’s selection for Sunday’s game at FBD Semple Stadium includes a start for Loughmore Castleiney clubman Noel McGrath. Brian Hogan, Craig Morgan, Seamus Kennedy and Dan McCormack are also included in the side. 

Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher, who suffered an ACL injury in 2020 and an Achilles tendon injury in 2021, is named amongst the substitutes. Jake Morris is not included in the squad. 

The teams last faced each other in 2007, with Tipperary winning out 1-11 to 0-8. 

Elsewhere, Limerick have named a strong team for their clash with Offally. The All-Ireland champions need a win or draw to avoid a relegation play-off with Antrim.

12 of the players who started the 2021 final will line out with Mike Casey, Cathal O’Neill and Oisín O’Reilly also named in the team. Casey makes his first start since the 2020 league tie against Waterford. He has been sidelined with prolonged knee ligament issues since. 

Galway welcome back Brian Concannon for their home tie against Clare on Sunday. Joseph Cooney, Gearoid McInerney, Darren Morrissey and Cianan Fahy all come into the team as well.


1. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill) 3. James Quigley (Kiladangan) 4. Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

5. Robert Byrne (Portroe) 6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) 7. Seamus Kennedy (St Marys)

8. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh) 9. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)

10. Conor Bowe (Moyne-Templetuohy) 11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney) 12. Michael Breen (Ballina)

13. Jason Forde (Silvermines) 14. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) 15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

Limerick (vs Antrim)

1. Nicky Quaid (Effin)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff) 3. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh) 4. Barry Nash (South Liberties)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell) 6. Declan Hannon (Adare) Captain 7. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)

8. Cathal O’Neill (Crecora Manister) 9. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s) 11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell) 12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)

13. Oisín O’Reilly (Kilmallock) 14. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell) 15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)

 Galway (vs Clare)

1. Éanna Murphy (Tommy Larkins)

2. Jack Grealish (Gort), 3. Daithí Burke (Capt, Turloughmore), 4. Darren Morrissey (Sarsfields)

5. Tiernan Killeen (Loughrea), 6. Gearoid Mcinerney (Oranmore Maree) 7. Pádraic Mannion (Ahascragh Fohenagh), 

8. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields), 9. Ronan Glennon (Mullagh)

10. Tom Monahan (Craughwell), 11. Conor Cooney (St Thomas’), 12. Cianan Fahy (Ardrahan)

15. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly), 14. Conor Whelan (Kinvara), 13. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh Fohenagh)

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel