making the cut

Leinster-bound Lowe named as part of Maori All Blacks squad to face the Lions

It was confirmed in March that James Lowe would be joining Leinster.

NEW LEINSTER SIGNING James Lowe has been named as part of the Maori All Blacks squad for their match against the Lions on Saturday week, 17 June.

James Lowe James Lowe scores a try for the Chiefs against the Waratahs last weekend. Photosport / Bruce Lim/INPHO Photosport / Bruce Lim/INPHO / Bruce Lim/INPHO

It was confirmed in March that Lowe, who scored a try for the Maori side against Munster in Thomond Park last November, would be joining Leinster next season.

Maori head coach Colin Cooper has named a 27-man squad for the match in Rotorua with only three uncapped players – Bryn Hall, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi and Rob Thompson.

Out-half Ihaia West, who scored the brilliant try that sealed the Blues 22-16 victory over the Lions in Auckland yesterday, is also part of the Maori squad.

Ihaia West scores the winning try Ihaia West scores the winning try for the Blues yesterday Photosport / Peter Meecham/INPHO Photosport / Peter Meecham/INPHO / Peter Meecham/INPHO

Hurricanes winnger Nehe Milner-Skudder is also included after making his comeback last weekend from a fractured foot injury that he suffered last March.

Maori All Blacks


Chris Eves – North Harbour – Waikato/Tainui (7 appearances)
Kane Hames – Tasman – Ngāi Tuhoe/Ngāti Porou (5)
Mike Kainga – Taranaki – Ngāti Kahungunu (2)
Ben May – Hawke’s Bay – Ngāti Maniapoto (12)
Marcel Renata – Auckland – Ngāti Whānaunga / Te Aupouri (4)

Ash Dixon (captain) – Hawke’s Bay – Ngāti Tahinga (8)
Hikawera Elliot – Counties Manukau – Ngāti Awa (9)

Tom Franklin – Otago – Ngāti Maniapoto (4)
Leighton Price – Taranaki – Waikato/Ngāti Maniapoto (3)
Joe Wheeler – Tasman – Ngāi Tahu (2)

Loose forwards
Elliot Dixon – Southland – Ngāpuhi (9)
Akira Ioane – Auckland – Ngāpuhi/Te Whānau ā Apanui (5)
Liam Messam – Waikato – Ngāti Maniapoto (12)
Reed Prinsep – Canterbury – Te Rārawa (2)
Kara Pryor – Northland – Ngāti Awa/Ngāti Pikiao/Ngāti Rangitihi (2)


Bryn Hall* – North Harbour – Ngāti Ranginui
Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi* – Taranaki – Ngāti Pikiao

First five-eighths
Otere Black – Manawatu – Ngāi Tuhoe/Te Whānau ā Apanui/Ngāti Tūwharetoa (4)
Ihaia West – Hawke’s Bay – Ngāti Kahungunu/Ngāti Porou (7)

Tim Bateman – Canterbury – Ngāi Tahu (12)
Charlie Ngatai – Taranaki – Ngāti Porou/Te Whānau ā Apanui/Te Whakatōhea (9)
Matt Proctor – Wellington – Ngāi Te Rangi/Ngāpuhi (9)
Rob Thompson* – Canterbury – Ngāti Kahungunu
James Lowe – Tasman – Ngāpuhi/Ngāi Te Rangi (5)

Outside backs
Damian McKenzie – Waikato – Ngāti Tūwharetoa/Ngāti Tahinga (3)
Nehe Milner-Skudder – Manawatu – Ngāti Porou/Tapuika (2)
Declan O’Donnell – Taranaki – Ngāti Tūwharetoa/Ngāti Porou (1)

The42 Rugby Show / SoundCloud

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.