Table Toppers

Limerick senior trio star as Mary Immaculate finish top of Fitzgibbon Cup group

Declan Hannon, Cian Lynch and Darragh O’Donovan hit a combined total of 0-16 today.

Mary Immaculate College 1-20
Dublin IT 0-5

Jackie Cahill reports from Parnell’s GAA club

RESULTS WENT EAMONN Cregan’s way this afternoon as his Mary Immaculate College side hammered Dublin IT by 18 points to finish on top of Group C in the Fitzgibbon Cup.

Scoring difference was good enough for Mary I as they piled on the misery for DIT at Parnell’s GAA club in Coolock.

Cian O'Donoghue and Shane Barrett with Darragh Corrry and Cian Lynch Mary Immaculate College and DIT players battle for possession in Parnells today. Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

Limerick ace Declan Hannon helped himself to 0-9 for the winners on a chilly afternoon that also saw them register seven wides, with DIT notching 11 of their own.

Hannon’s Limerick senior teammates Darragh O’Donovan and Cian Lynch also notched a combined total of 0-7.

DIT provided little resistance, however, and managed just a single point from play – supplied by Conor Sheehan with six minutes left.

2013 runners-up Mary I were 0-10 to 0-3 clear at half-time, having played with the breeze from the start.

Cian O'Donoghue with Cian Lynch Mary I's Cian Lynch tries to dispossess DIT's Cian O'Donoghue Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

DIT still held out mathematical hope of advancing themselves but needed to run up a cricket score victory while also hoping that NUI Galway fell to a heavy defeat – but neither of those scenarios materialised.

Darragh Corry’s 35th minute goal put the end result beyond any doubt, as Limerick pair Cian Lynch and impressive midfielder Darragh O’Donovan did well in the build-up.

Indeed, Lynch produced one of his trademark over the shoulder handpasses to provide O’Donovan with possession and the move culminated with Corry’s blistering finish.

Thomas Doyle with Sean Linnane DIT's Thomas Doyle collides with Sean Linnane of Mary Immaculate Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

O’Donovan set the ball rolling for Mary I with the opening score of the game and Hannon had four points on the board by the interval – before adding another five in the second half.

For Eoin Brislane’s DIT, this was a disappointing end to their campaign but Cregan and Mary I are through to the last eight and with plenty of intercounty stars in their ranks, they could go a long way yet.

Scorers for Mary I: Declan Hannon 0-9 (0-6f), Darragh Corry 1-2, Darragh O’Donovan 0-5 (0-1f, 0-1 ’65), Cian Lynch 0-2, Stephen Cahill & Colm Galvin 0-1 each.

Scorers for DIT: Jack Guiney 0-3 (0-3f), Conor Sheehan & Derek McNicholas (f) 0-1 each.

Eamonn Cregan Mary Immaculate College manager Eamonn Cregan Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

Mary Immaculate College

1. Maidhc O’Conghaile (Michael Breathnach, Galway)

2. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate, Clare)
3. Richie English (Doon, Limerick)
17. Andrew Ryan (Toomevara, Tipperary)

7. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary)
20.Tom Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons, Tipperary)
6. John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney, Tipperary)

8. Stephen Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary)
9. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon, Limerick)

11. Colm Galvin (Clonlara, Clare)
30. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonagh’s, Tipperary)
15. Darragh Corry (Tulla, Clare)

10. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca, Limerick)
14. Declan Hannon (Adare, Limerick)
29. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell, Limerick)


23. Sean Linnane (Turloughmore, Galway) for O’Meara (45)
8. Alan Flynn (Kildangan, Tipperary) for Quirke (50)
12. Mikey O’Neill (Kilmaley, Clare) for Reidy (52)

Dublin IT

1. Patrick McKenna (Clane, Kildare)

2. Seanie McClelland (Lucan Sarsfields, Dublin)
3. Tommy Doyle (Lough Lene Gaels, Westmeath)
4. Conor Robinson (Ballyboden St Enda’s, Dublin)

7. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna, Dublin)
6. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers, Wexford)
5. Donal Guinan (Birr, Offaly)

29. John Henderson (Bray Emmetts, Wicklow)
8. Glen Whelan (Ballinteer St John’s, Dublin)

11. Jack Guiney (Rathnure, Wexford)
12. Conor Sheehan (Cappamore, Limerick)
9. Robbie Greville (Raharney, Westmeath)

14. Derek McNicholas (Lough Lene Gaels, Westmeath)
10. Jude Sweeney (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)
18. AJ Murphy (Na Fianna, Dublin)


15. Cian O’Donoghue (Tullogher-Rosbercon, Kilkenny) for McClelland (29)
21. Billy Kelly (HWH Bunclody) for McNicholas (50).

Referee: Mickey Dan Murtagh (Westmeath)

Clare and Limerick seniors hit the net as LIT defeat UCC in Fitzgibbon Cup

0-9 from Clare’s Duggan not enough for NUIG as defending Fitzgibbon champions UL survive

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.