Cork's Graham Canty battles against the Mayo defence. INPHO/Donall Farmer

O'Connor the scoring hero as Mayo reach Division 1 semi-finals

James Horan’s side enjoyed a successful trip down south to play Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh this afternoon.

Mayo 0-11
Cork 0-10

CILLIAN O’Connor fired over two superb late sideline kicks as Mayo scraped into the semi-finals of Division 1 of the Allianz football league this afternoon.

Despite scoring just once in the opening 25 minutes of their match against Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Mayo improved hugely in the second half.

With the strong wind behind them, Cork dominated for long stages in the first-half after Kevin McLoughlin’s early point had put Mayo ahead.

A free from the 45 by Daniel Goulding in the 18th minute pushed Cork 0-5 to 0-1 in front.

With Michael Shields anchoring their defensive challenge, further pointed frees from Mark Collins and Goulding extended Cork’s advantage to six points by the 24th minute.

However last year’s All-Ireland finalists finished the game strongly with Michael Conroy, Aidan O’Shea and Alan Freeman amongst their point-scorers to ensure they only trailed by 0-8 to 0-5 at the interval.

Cork only managed to notch two points in the second-half through Fintan Goold and Goulding while Mayo kicked on in style with McLoughlin and O’Connor to the fore.

The Rebels did introduce new Antrim recruit James Loughrey during the second-half but it was Mayo who finished the half strongest with O’Connor raising white flags with classy scores in the 60th and 64th minutes.

Scorers for Mayo: Kevin McLoughlin 0-4 (0-2f), Cillian O’Connor 0-3 (0-2 sideline, 0-1f), Donal Vaughan, Aidan O’Shea, Alan Freeman, Michael Conroy 0-1 each.
Scorers for Cork: Daniel Goulding 0-4 (0-3f), Fintan Goold 0-3, Paudie Kissane, Aidan Walsh, Mark Collins (0-1f) 0-1 each.

MAYO: David Clarke (Ballina); Kevin Keane (Westport), Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), Shane McHale (Knockmore); Lee Keegan (Westport), Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe), Colm Boyle (Davitt’s); Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy), Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber); Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore), Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy), Cathal Carolan (Crossmolina); Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber), Alan Freeman (Aghamore), Michael Conroy (Davitt’s).

Subs: Enda Varley (Garrymore) for Conroy (42), Richie Feeney (Castlebar Mitchels) for Carolan (47), Jason Doherty (Burrishoole) for Freeman (58), Darren Coen (Hollymount-Carramore) for Varley (59-61, blood), Chris Barrett (Belmullet) for McHale (63).

CORK: Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown); John McLoughlin (Kanturk), Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), Michael Shields (St Finbarr’s); Paudie Kissane (Clyda Rovers), Noel O’Leary (Cill na Martra), Tomás Clancy (Fermoy); Aidan Walsh (Kanturk), Graham Canty (Bantry Blues); Mark Collins (Castlehaven), Fintan Goold (Macroom), Andrew O’Sullivan (Castletownbere); Daniel Goulding (Eire Og), Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers), Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers).

Subs: James Loughrey (Mallow) for O’Leary (28-half-time, blood), Pearse O’Neill (Aghada) for A O’Sullivan (52), Loughrey (Mallow) for McLoughlin (53), Brian Shanahan (Carbery Rangers) for O’Leary (65-67, blood), Liam Shorten (Ballingeary) for Kerrigan (67), Denis Crowley (Bishopstown) for O’Driscoll (67).

Down’s Ryan Boyle with Michael Foley of Kildare. Credit: INPHO/Presseye/William Cherry

Down 3-13
Kildare 1-12

Down have loss their Division 1 status despite defeating Kildare by 3-13 to 1-12 in Newry.

With the Lilywhites already assured of a spot in the semi-finals, Down capitalised on their lacklustre performances with two goals from Eoin McCartan and Kevin McKernan adding another.

Kieran McGeeney’s men trailed by three points at half-time and fell further behind after the break in what was a spirited display by down.

Scorers for Down: K McKernan 1-3, E McCartan 2-0, D O’Hare 0-4 (0-4f), N Madine 0-2, P Devlin 0-1 (0-1 f), R Boyle 0-1, B Coulter 0-1, R Mallon 0-1.

Scorers for Kildare: J Doyle 0-5 (0-3 f), P O’Neill 1-0, P Cribbin 0-2, E O’Flaherty 0-2, P Kelly 0-1, E Callaghan 0-1, A Smith 0-1.

Down: B McVeigh; D McCartan, B McArdle, O Costello; D Rooney, P Turley, R Boyle; K King, K McKernan; M Poland, P Devlin, K Quinn; D O’Hare, E McCartan, B Coulter.

Subs: A McArdle for Quinn (30), R Mallon for Coulter (HT), N Madine for E McCartan (58), D Turley for P Turley (64), R Kelly for O’Hare (67)

Kildare: S Connolly; O Lyons, M Foley, H McGrillen; P Cribbin, P Kelly, E Doyle; D Flynn, P O’Neill; W Groome, E Callaghan, E O’Flaherty; J Doyle, S Johnston, A Smith.

Subs: S Hurley for Flynn (42), F Dowling for Johnston (47), N Kelly for Callaghan (53), C McNally for Groome (58), T O’Connor for Smith (64)

Limerick and Offaly claim promotion from Division 4

Division 1: Kerry succeed in Omagh to avoid relegation

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.