This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 18 °C Monday 13 July, 2020

Familiar names recalled and U21 heroes picked as Mayo unveil Connacht league squad

With their established stars on holiday, Stephen Rochford has assembled a new panel.

Alan Freeman, Sharoize Akram and Michael Hall all given the chance to impress for Mayo.
Alan Freeman, Sharoize Akram and Michael Hall all given the chance to impress for Mayo.
Image: INPHO

WITH ONLY THREE of Mayo’s 2017 championship squad not currently in Malaysia on a well-deserved team holiday with last year’s All-Ireland finalists, Stephen Rochford has been forced to assemble a brand new panel for the opening rounds of the FBD Connacht League.

Footballer of the Year Andy Moran, All-Star goalkeeper David Clarke and experienced
midfielder Barry Moran are the only members of the 2017 squad who didn’t make the ten-day trip to Kuala Lumpur.

Their colleagues are not returning from South-East Asia until early next week so almost 30 players were invited in to form an experimental Mayo squad for the first two rounds of the Connacht League against Galway on Sunday and Leitrim next Wednesday. Both games will be played in Castlebar.

Kevin Keane, who has been out of action since tearing his cruciate knee ligament last February, Jason Gibbons, Alan Freeman and Neil Douglas are among those with inter-county experience who have been recalled by Rochford.

Mitchels' Neil Douglas celebrates with Adam Douglas after the game Neil Douglas celebrating Castlebar Mitchels county final win last October with his godson Adam. Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

2016 All-Ireland under-21 winners Seamus Cunniffe, Michael Hall, Michael Plunkett, Sharoize Akram, Matthew Ruane, Brian Reape and James Carr are also included in the shadow squad.

This Mayo development panel had their first game together last week when they beat the
students of NUI, Galway in a challenge match with Brian Reape scoring four goals.

Oisin McLoughlin celebrates after scoring a goal Oisin McLoughlin won an All-Ireland intermediate club medal with Westport last February. Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

Mayo Squad

Paddy O’Malley (Westport)
Kevin Keane (Westport)
Fionn McDonagh (Westport)
Oisin McLaughlin (Westport)
Stephen Duffy (Crossmolina)
Jordan Flynn (Crossmolina)
Barry Moran (Castlebar Mitchels)
Ger McDonagh (Castlebar Mitchels)
Neil Douglas (Castlebar Mitchels)
Aidan Butler (Claremorris)
James Stretton (Claremorris)
James McCormack (Claremorris)
Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber)
Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber)
Seamus Cunniffe (Ballaghaderreen)
Sharoize Akram (Ballaghaderreen)
Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
Matthew Ruane (Breaffy)
Michael Hall (Breaffy)
Nathan Moran (Hollymount/Carramore)
Ryan O’Donoghue (Belmullet)
Brian Reape (Moy Davitts)
David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
Ciaran Treacy (Ballina Stephenites)
Ross Egan (Aghamore)
Alan Freeman (Aghamore)
Peter Naughton (Knockmore)
Marcus Park (Knockmore)
Jamie Oates (Garrymore)
Adam Gallagher (Mayo Gaels)
James Carr (Ardagh)

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Gilroy’s Dublin charges hit four goals as they claim Walsh Cup win in season opener

Offaly miss late chances to win as Colm Basquel fires 1-6 for Dublin in draw

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Mike Finnerty

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel