Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 5°C Friday 14 May 2021

Macauley amongst goalscorers as NUI Maynooth win Sigerson Cup opener

NUI Maynooth will now advance to take on Queen’s University or GMIT at the quarter-final stage.

Dublin's Michael Darragh Macauley.
Dublin's Michael Darragh Macauley.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

NUI Maynooth 2-19
IT Blanchardstown 1-5

NUI MAYNOOTH CRUISED to victory in their Sigerson Cup opener today with Michael Darragh Macauley amongst their goalscorers as they had 17 points to spare over IT Blanchardstown.

The 2012 finalists were far too strong for the competition’s newcomers, who included Meath’s Graham Geraghty in their team, in a game that was played in Blanchardstown.

2013 Footballer of the Year Macauley featured in a star-studded NUI Maynooth side that also included Dublin teammate Eric Lowndes while their attack included Donegal’s Patrick Brearty, Meath’s Eamonn Wallace and the Kildare duo of Paddy Brophy and Paul Cribbin.

McBrearty and Wallace helped their team dominate opening period and race into a 0-13 to 1-3 interval lead. Ciaran Gilheaney bagged the IT Blanchardstown goal in the first-half.

NUI Maynooth maintained their grip on the game in the second-half to triumph by 17 points. They will now advance to take on Queen’s University or GMIT, who face off tomorrow, at the quarter-final stage next week.

Here’s this week’s fixtures in the 2014 Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups

Queen’s University and UCD win opening clashes in Sigerson Cup

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: