Stepping Down – 15 GAA managers who called it a day in 2013

Mick O’Dwyer, Kieran McGeeney, John Allen and Conor Counihan were amongst those who handed in the Bainisteoir bibs in 2013.

2013 REPRESENTED THE end of the road for several inter-county GAA managers who were involved in the races for the Sam Maguire and Liam McCarthy Cups.

Some departed after claiming silverware this year like Limerick’s John Allen and Maurice Horan.

Some departed in difficult circumstances like Kildare’s Kieran McGeeney and Waterford’s Michael Ryan.

McGeeney and Pat Flanagan are amongst those who will return to the inter-county game in new roles for 2014.

Here’s those who in different circumstances, saw their involvement draw to a close in 2013.

Stepping Down – 15 GAA managers who called it a day in 2013
1 / 15
  • Conor Counihan (Cork)

    After six years, Counihan stepped down in August. He won the All-Ireland senior title in 2010 as well as three Munster tchampionships and four National League crowns.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Mick O'Dwyer (Clare)

    The legendary boss stepped down after just a year with Clare. Could that be his final involvement at inter-county senior level?Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Kevin Walsh (Sligo)

    A difficult year for Sligo football and for Walsh, appointed in November 2008, it was his last season with the Yeats County.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • George Dugdale and Barney Breen (Leitrim)

    The duo had been joint managers of Leitrim but were beaten in the race to be in charge for 2014 by Sean Hagan.Source: INPHO/Morgan Treacy
  • Maurice Horan (Limerick)

    Horan, who lead Limerick to the Division 4 league title last April, resigned in July after three years in charge of Limerick.Source: INPHO/Donall Farmer
  • Frank Dawson (Antrim)

    Dawson resigned from his position with the Saffron County in early October, citing a difference in ambition between himself and the county board.Source: INPHO/Presseye/William Cherry
  • Ollie Baker (Offaly)

    Ollie Baker stepped down from his role with the Faithful in August after two years as Offaly boss.Source: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
  • Pat Flanagan (Westmeath)

    Flanagan's tenure with Westmeath ended in September after he been the boss since 2010.Source: INPHO/Ken Sutton
  • Peter Canavan (Fermanagh)

    The Tyrone legend stepped down as manager in September 2013 after being involved with the Erne County for two seasons.Source: INPHO/Morgan Treacy
  • Glenn Ryan (Longford)

    The Kildare native called it a day with the Longford senior footballers in August after being at the helm for five years.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Michael Ryan (Waterford)

    Ryan confirmed to the Waterford county board in August that he would not be looking to extend his tenure to the 2014 season.Source: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan
  • Justin McNulty (Laois)

    Armagh native McNulty stepped down as Laois manager in August. He had been in charge of their fortunes for three seasons.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Kieran McGeeney (Kildare)

    McGeeney's six-season reign as Kildare manager ended in controversial fashion in September. He has since assumed new roles with the Armagh footballers and Tipperary hurlers for next year.Source: INPHO/Donall Farmer
  • John Allen (Limerick)

    After leading Limerick to Munster glory in July, Allen opted in September to bring the curtain down on his reign with Limerick.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Eamon Phelan (London)

    Kilkenny native Phelan stepped down after deciding to return to Ireland.Source: INPHO/Donall Farmer
Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.