Tony Kelly is in line for his Clare return. Ryan Byrne/INPHO
Team news

Kelly named on bench for Clare, De Búrca to start for Waterford in Munster SHC openers

Limerick have named 13 of their All-Ireland winning team for the trip to Ennis.

TONY KELLY HAS been named on the bench for Clare’s Munster SHC opener against Limerick on Sunday.

The former Hurler of the Year underwent ankle surgery before Christmas and missed the league campaign having last featured in the 2023 All Ireland semi-final.

His return to the squad is a huge boost for Banner boss Brian Lohan, who has been able to go with the same starting XV that won last month’s hurling league title against Kilkenny.

Experienced players David McInerney and Shane O’Donnell are both on the bench.

Also returning to action for the start of this year’s Munster SHC is Waterford’s Tadhg de Búrca, who has been named at centre back for their first round clash with Cork.

He has been absent since rupturing his Achilles against Limerick at the same stage last season and Davy Fitzgerald has had no qualms re-introducing him.

Conor Prunty is at full-back for the Déise having missed the last four rounds of the league through injury while Calum Lyons and Stephen Bennett are in the forward positions following their own injury issues during the league.

John Kiely has also named the Limerick team for that Clare showdown, with 13 members of All-Ireland winning team included in their championship opener. Kyle Hayes has been named to start at half-back while Declan Hannon and Cathal O’Neill in for suspended Peter Casey and injured Darragh O’Donovan.

Kilkeny have made five changes in the team they have announced for Sunday’s Leinster opener against Antrim, from the league final loss to Clare.

Mikey Butler, Mikey Carey, Martin Keoghan, TJ Reid and Tom Phelan are all named to start on this occasion.

Tommy Walsh, Jordan Molloy, Billy Ryan, Luke Hogan and Billy Drennan drop to the bench.


1. Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle)

2. Adam Hogan (Feakle), 3. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley), 4. Conor Leen (Corofin)

5. Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe), 6. John Conlon (Clonlara), 7. Cian Galvin (Clarecastle)

8. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona), 9. Darragh Lohan (Wolfe Tones)

10. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge), 11. Mark Rodgers (Scariff), 12. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)

13. Aidan McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona), 14. Ian Galvin (Clonlara), 15. David Reidy (Eire Óg Ennis)


  • 16. Cian Broderick (Clarecastle)
  • 17. Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones)
  • 18. Paul Flanagan (Ballyea)
  • 19. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
  • 20. David McInerney (Tulla)
  • 21. Paddy Donnellan (Broadford)
  • 22. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg Ennis)
  • 23. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)
  • 24. Shane Meehan (Banner)
  • 25. Robin Mounsey (Ruan)
  • 26. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), 3. Dan Morrissey (Ahane), 4. Barry Nash (South Liberties)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), 6. Declan Hannon (Adare), Captain 7. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)

8. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), 9. Cathal O’Neill (Crecora/Manister)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patricks), 11. David Reidy (Dromin/Athlacca) 12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)

13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell) 14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh/Castlemahon) 15. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell).


  • 16. David McCarthy (Glenroe)
  • 17. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)
  • 18. Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown)
  • 19. Adam English (Doon)
  • 20. Sean Finn (Bruff)
  • 21. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)
  • 22. Barry Murphy (Doon)
  • 23. Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown)
  • 24. Fergal O’Connor (Effin)
  • 25. Donnacha O aalaigh (Monaleen)
  • 26. Mark Quinlan (Garryspillane)


1. Shaun O’Brien (De La Salle)

2. Mark Fitzgerald (Passage), 3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside-Ballinacourty), 4. Iarlaith Daly (Lismore)

5. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart), 6. Tadhg De Búrca (Clashmore-Kinsalebeg), 7. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater), 9. Neil Montgomery (Abbeyside-Ballinacourty)

10. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower), 11. Kevin Mahony (Ballygunner), 12. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)

13. Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner), 14. Michael Kiely (Abbeyside-Ballinacourty), 15. Jack Prendergast (Lismore)


  • 16. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)
  • 17. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner)
  • 18. Jack Fagan (De La Salle)
  • 19. Martin Power (Clonea)
  • 20. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
  • 21. Patrick Fitzgerald (Ballygunner)
  • 22. Padraig Fitzgerald (Kilrossanty)
  • 23. Paddy Leavey (Ballygunner)
  • 24. Tom Barron (Fourmilewater)
  • 25. Seamus Fitzgerald (Kilrossanty)
  • 26. Sean Walsh (Fourmilewater)



1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Mikey Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels), 3. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels), 4. Shane Murphy (Glenmore)

5. David Blanchfield (Bennetsbridge), 6. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels – captain), 7. Mikey Carey (Young Irelands)

8. Cian Kenny (James Stephens), 9. Richie Reid (Shamrocks Ballyhale)

10. Adrian Mullen (Shamrocks Ballyhale), 11. Eoin Cody (Shamrocks Ballyhale), 12. John Donnelly (Thomastown)

13. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan), 14. TJ Reid (Shamrocks Ballyhale), 15. Tom Phelan (Conahy Shamrocks)


  • 16. Aidan Tallis (Lisdowney)
  • 17. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)
  • 18. Jordan Molloy (O’Loughlin Gaels)
  • 19. Darragh Corcoran (Shamrocks Ballyhale)
  • 20. Killian Doyle (Emeralds)
  • 21. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)
  • 22. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
  • 23. Luke Hogan (O’Loughlin Gaels) 
  • 24. Owen Wall (O’Loughlin Gaels)
  • 25. Gearoid Dunne (Tullaroan)
  • 26. Billy Drennan (Galmoy)
Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel