Change It Up

Munster club kingpins to face new 'Super Six' format in 2018 Limerick hurling championship

Na Piarsaigh will be aiming for back-to-back titles for the first time.

FRESH FROM THEIR Munster senior club hurling triumph last Sunday, Na Piarsaigh have discovered what awaits them back at local level in Limerick in 2018.

pjimage Kilmallock, Na Piarsaigh and Patrickswell will all be in the same group next season. INPHO INPHO

A new ‘Super Six’ format is set to be introduced for next year’s Limerick senior hurling championship with the Limerick Leader reporting that the structure was rubber-stamped at last night’s county board meeting.

The senior hurling championship has operated with two groups of six in recent seasons but a new seeding system will be brought in for next year.

It means Na Piarsaigh will be joined in Group 1 by 2016 champions Patrickswell, 2014 champions Kilmallock – also Munster winners that year – and 2016 finalists Ballybrown.

Kilmallock team celebrate with the trophy after the game Kilmallock players celebrate their 2014 provincial final success against Cratloe. Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

This year’s semi-finalists Doon and 2013 finalists Adare complete the group.

The top two teams in Group 1 will advance to the semi-final stage with the quarter-finals contested by third and fourth in Group 1, and the top two outfits from Group 2.

Promotion and relegation will also come into play with the bottom team in Group 1 relegation and the top side in Group 2 promoted.

Na Piarsaigh have won four senior hurling titles in Limerick and Munster since 2011 – along with the 2016 All-Ireland crown – but will be aiming next year to complete back-to-back county triumphs for the first time.

Na Piarsaigh celebrate Na Piarsaigh players celebrating last Sunday's win over Ballygunner. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Before that they will have an All-Ireland club semi-final date against Derry’s Slaughtneil on 10 February.

Limerick senior hurling championship

Group 1: Adare, Ballybrown, Doon, Kilmallock, Na Piarsaigh, Patrickswell.

Group 2: Ahane, Cappamore, Knockainey, Monaleen, Murroe-Boher, South Liberties.

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Lee Keegan pours cold water on ‘false rumour’ he has been diagnosed with serious illness

‘That’s where I started to pick up on the free-taking, watching him’: Bryan Sheehan on Maurice Fitz

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel